Gardening and tiny house project in a mindful family in Jutland, Denmark

  • Favourited 68 times
  • Last activity: 28 Mar 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Summer 2023 Update -

    We are a small family including Kathrin (29) and Eva (almost 5). We live in our DIY tiny house since summer 2022. It's located in the backyward of what looks like a standard urban house in the town of Billund.
    On the inside we strive to step by step create a mindful, simple life in alignment with natur's cycles and magic. We practice yoga, spirituality and play. Sustainability, finding meaning, passion and joy are big values in our home.

    We are planning to do some travelling ourselves in the coming winter and therefore we currently need help getting the garden in good shape so that we can leave it for a while. Also, there is some inprovement and maintainence work on both the tiny house and the big house.

    Eva goes to kindergarten Mo-Fri and spends every other weekend with her dad. I am a yoga teacher and work with something called Human Design as well. So I also have time to work on all the projects around the house, but looking for some help. :-)

    We have experience hosting from last year when I needed some help on the building project and we have loved workaway and meeting wonderful travellers from all over.

    Originally I am from Germany and while I am well integrated in Denmark, I love intercultural exchanges and have been part of and cherished multi-cultural environments during my entire 11 years here. So we'd love to meet you no matter where you come from and where you are going.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    While we live in a fairly typical Danish urban area in many ways, we prepresent German, Danish, American and Persian culture just within our own family and the local community is similarily versatile due to the Lego company. While we love sharing and learning about language, traditions and habits, I have come to enjoy just meeting individuals as we are all uniquely part of the human race.
    You can learn tons about sustainable, new and alterinative ways of building. Really all the skills you need to ever build your own house if you so wish to.
    Besides that we live a concious, minimalist, simple life, so if that's new to you you will naturally learn about that with us.

    More importantly we believe that we always learn from each other and look forward to learning from and about you. <3

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    As mentioned I am getting the property ready to pursue our own travel dreams. So all of these things are tasks/projects I am working on myself, too, but another pair of hands will make things move so much faster and make the process more enjoyable too. :-)
    But because all the things need to be done, I am very flexible with which specific tasks you would prefer. You can do any of the tasks that need to be done around the house or if you prefer, you can take care of cooking and Eva while I work on the tasks.

    Some of the things we are working on are:
    - Weeding
    - Trimming hedges and bushes
    - Painting
    - Building shelves
    - Tidying up and organizing indoor and outdoor spaces

    And because I am not very esthetic myself, I can always use someone with that artistic eye and abilities to give me inspiration to create more beauty, too. ;-)

  • Languages spoken

    Danish: Fluent
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depends on when you want to come. The big house is still open for rentals in September (though several dates are still free), so in that case you would stay with us in the tiny house. This means composting toilet, no direct shower access and carrying water. :-) But it's also very cosy and fun.

    More likely you will be able to stay in the big house, which has two bedrooms (and a regular kitchen and bathroom, plus living room). You will get your own room, though each room can technically sleep 2 people. In our experience it's fun to have several volunteers at the same time so our energy becomes more dynamic and also so you don't have to work alone always, because I will not be available all the time due to my work. I would however not accept in a 3rd volunteer for sharing a bedroom without checking in with you beforehand, as I know some private space can also be very needed.

    We are very chill to live with and of course value your privacy very high.
    We eat mostly vegetarian, organic and healthy. If you are ok with our diet, you are welcome to join our meals. If you have your own preferences that is also ok.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Billund is a small (6.500 inhabitants) town, but characteristic with it's major attractions such as Legoland, Lego House, Lalandia and Wow Park. So there are fun things to do especially for playful adults. We have a bike you can use to explore the area. Bus transportation is ok and then there is the airport of course. I also have a car, which is not being used very much, so there are options there. We have beautiful nature for walks close by.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is parking space in front of the property for a regular van size camper.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 451489482735

Feedback (5)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)









Join our hobby farm with horses in Djursland, Denmark
Join our project to create community space in an old ceramics factory in Knabstrup, Denmark