Become a volunteer in this oasis of calm in the deepest Galicia

Country

Spain

Favourited 96 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/05/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    124

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    EN // ES


    Doade is a mountain village in the council of Beariz (province of Ourense). There are not many inhabitants in this village. We've got two pubs and one little grocery. There we live my eldest son and me. We live in two little houses joined between them which are being restored. Beneath one of them, there is a driveway that we used as garage. The main house is 100 years old and the other part is approximately 60.

    This is a really hilly and lush area which is 700 metres above sea level. Lots of oaks, chestnut trees, roe deer, wolves give to this place a real magic touch with a such special energy.
    We are 2 hours from Santiago de Compostela (Galician capital city), half an hour from Carballiño (the closest medium-sized town) and 45 minutes from Ourense and Pontevedra.
    Not far from here, we have got really nice thermal baths and springs.
    In a nutshell, we live a a quiet and calm place, off the beaten path and with a high landscape and cultural interest.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Doade es una aldea de montaña en el ayuntamiento de Beariz (provincia de Ourense). Hay muy pocos habitantes, dos bares y un supermercado. Allí vivimos mi hijo mayor y yo en dos casas unidas entre sí que estamos restaurando. Por debajo de una de ellas hay un espacio que usamos de garaje. La casa principal tiene cien años y la otra parte aproximadamente tiene 60 años.

    Es una zona montañosa y muy verde a 700 m sobre el nivel del mar. Muchos robles y castaños, corzos, lobos... Con una energía especial.
    Estamos a 2 horas de Santiago de Compostela, a media hora de Carballiño y a 45 minutos de Pontevedra y Ourense.
    Cerca tenemos termas muy agradables.
    En resumen un sitio apartado, muy tranquilo, con mucho interés cultural y paisajístico.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    -Bio farming
    -Spanish
    -Bio-construction
    -Yoga
    -Sightseeing
    -Veggie cooking

    -------------------------------
    -Granja ecológica
    -Bioconstrucción
    -Yoga
    -Turismo por la zona
    -Cocina vegetariana

  • Help

    Help

    Our project has two parts. On a first stage, we would need some help to set the floor on the attic which will be the ceiling of the home. Besides, the staircase which connects the main house with the second one needs an urgent update. On a second stage, we would appreciate some help with the garden, walls repair and edges cleaning.

    We try to do everything in a bio-constrution way, that is to say, white cement, natural treatments for wood, etc. We also grow our crops and tree-care treatments in organic and eco-farming.
    We would appreciate that volunteers leave the house on their weekends off.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    El proyecto tiene dos partes. Por un lado estaría la restauración de la casa: necesitamos ayuda para poner el suelo del desván que hace de techo en parte de la vivienda y las escaleras que comunican las dos casas. Por otro lado estaría la finca, es decir, ayuda en la huerta, reparación de muros y limpieza de contornos.
    Todo procuramos hacerlo en Bioconstrucción: cemento blanco, tratamientos naturales para la madera, etc. También realizamos los cultivos y tratamientos forestales de manera biológica.

    Los fines de semana se agradecería que los voluntarios dejasen la casa libre, así también podrían conocer la zona.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Galician: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Volunteers will have the second house for themselves (private room), with wood stove. Shower and WC are outdoors. There's internet access, but there's no Wi-Fi (bring your own devices). Full board (Lacto-ovo-vegetarian food).

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    En la misma casa, en espacio independiente. Con estufa de leña, ducha y wc (en el exterior) para l@s voluntari@s. Acceso a internet con cable, no hay wifi (traed vuestro propio dispositivo). Comida ovolacteo-vegetariana.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Smoking is allowed only in some areas. No drugs allowed.
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Fumar está permitido sólo en ciertas zonas. Las drogas no están permitidas.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (weekends off))

Daniel Gómez colocando aislamiento
Vanda en la huerta, Portugal. 2017
Carla, Barcelona, . Abril 2017
Thank Quique for this wonderful greenhouse.
Quique, working on the greenhouse. He is from Canary Islands, he stayed with us for two months.
Wojtek, from Poland, cleaning around the garden. July 2016.
Francis, from London, working on the garden.
Our beloved dog Kupa in a very special place to bath.
Our animal family: Koopa the dog and Mossi the cat (she's really shy)
Heather.
In the our garden.
Our home, before the renovation work. Here you can also see my eldest son, Fins, in the foreground.
Waiting for you!












Host ref number: 448364596311