Homestead and not-for-profit community project in Mars Hill, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    55.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a personal homestead and not-for-profit community project. We are growing food for our nourishment, to strengthen our connection to the land where we live, and to reduce dependency on imported and potentially toxic ingredients. We are also building spaces for folks to cultivate a lifestyle more connected with the earth, and with each other. The project has an agroecology focus with emphasis on cultivating and preparing medicinal perennials, annual vegetables, flowers. We aim for more regenerative methods of food production, and sustainability harvest wild foods as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in an incredibly beautiful and biologically diverse part of the country. Many opportunities for outdoor recreation and connection with nature. I am happy to share knowledge about foraging for wild foods. Building infrastructure to support food sovereignty and having clean and low impact nutrition.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We have chickens, bees, and a small raised bed garden. also many acres of fields and forest available for trail maintenance and cultivation. A few building projects going on concurrently including a school bus renovation and yurt construction.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'd like to become fluent in french, and want to practice

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom in a 4 bedroom shared house

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    lots of local hikes, waterfalls, rock climbing, live music etc in the vicinity.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have fiber optic and wifi, with reliable connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have several parking spots available, but must be able to do moderately steep terrain

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-5 hours/day 5 days/week


Host ref number: 448186484353