Exchange languages skills and help with our garden. Discover beautiful seaside and countryside in Brittany, France

Country

France

Favourited 290 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️I would enjoy conversation time to improve language practice: English, German, Spanish, Romanian... I would help you with learning French if you wish*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    We live a few kilometers from old town Morlaix, and not far from the seaside. Not very far from Roscoff harbour : ferry lines to Plymouth and Ireland.

    Our house is not directly on the beach ( about 5km), we are in the countryside
    Wooden house, large garden, with young apple trees, plum tree (...), raspberries, strawberries, and two hens gathering around.

    Two lively kids (9 and 11) to play with! They learn basic English at school and are also interested in learning basic Spanish.
    We like kayaking, paddling, surfing (bodyboard), rockclimbing, playing on the beach, birdwatching... and also playing boardgames and reading a lot, especially in winter.

    We can pick you up at Morlaix train station (TGV), at Roscoff harbour for those coming by ferry from Ireland or England.

    I worked one year in the UK (foreign language assistant), and one year in Guinea (solidarity project), also a few weeks in Germany and Bulgaria. I've always preferred working abroad than visiting as a tourist, so i think the workaway program is a great idea. I sometimes leave my home to go "workaway" myself!

    I'm now a primary school teacher with not so many opportunities for long lasting stays abroad. I teach French to children who recently arrived in France. I want my kids to feel as being citizens of the world, so it's good for us to exchange with people from elsewhere.

    I'm part of the team which launched a local currency (oct. 2016), in order to promote local trade, organic food, and to communicate about economics issues. (project similar to Bristol Pound, or Chiemgauer... at a smaller scale).

    As I'm also a "workawayer", I would like to split my 2019summertime, hosting people here, then going elsewhere in Europe for a few weeks.

    The house is a bit messy, but if we know that a workawayer will soon arrive, it will give a boost to tidy every room!

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️Right now, I'm facing difficulties (divorce), I would prefer to host autonomous people for short stays. Anyway, I will consider and answer any letter. *️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have a good opportunity to discover a simple lifestyle in Brittany. We are close to the seaside and also close to the town of Morlaix. Many outdoor activities are possible.
    You'll learn proper French language (including slang if you wish)
    We enjoy cultural exchanges, we can also exchange about ecological ways of gardening.

  • Help

    Help

    We would like to improve our LANGUAGE SKILLS (I can speak English, little German, little Spanish).
    Help needed in the GARDEN if you want to; I always need advice in that field (as in many others)
    I would like you to boost my kids' interest for foreign languages...
    If you like COOKING, it could be really great ! we can swap recipes, although i'm not a great cook.

    Work could be : (choose and tell us what you prefer, we'll mainly do it together!)
    - drawing and painting a funny toilet door (environment or social message is a plus, not a must)
    - removing a thin layer of soil around the house (1 meter large, 10cm deep), then put there some sand and gravel
    - using the strimmer or the scythe to cut the high grass "savanna" (mostly done)
    - making small wooden labels with "pyrograveur" (partly done)
    - weeding around fruit trees (partly already done)
    - sometimes preparing the meals we'll have together
    - building a small shelter to keep hay dry
    - teaching us some yoga
    - building a small greenhouse
    ...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French (native), English (fair), little German (rusty), little Spanish, some interest for Italian and Romanian....

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    own bedroom in a warm wooden house with a doublebed. Shared bathroom (shower).
    Low tech dry toilets (it maybe sounds frightening, but you'll easily get used to it)

    I mostly use organic products in the kitchen, but there are many exceptions.
    We regularly eat eggs and fish, but I would be happy to learn cooking for vegetarians.
    When my kids are at home, we could sometimes have chicken or pork sausages. (strict vegan diet might not fit well)

    No television here.
    My elder son plays the guitar, the youngest the trumpet. Althought the house is really quiet most of the time!

    There's no pet inside the house, except a few harmless spiders and some flies (summer). Two hens in the garden.
    I'm not ready to host dogs in the house (sorry)

    We are not used to cigarette smoke, so we'll ask you not to smoke inside the house...
    Possibility to camp in the garden. (in summer)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Close : Morlaix, Chateau du Taureau, Plougasnou, cairn de Barnenez (one of the oldest human buildings in the world!)...
    A little further : Brest (Oceanopolis), Ile de Batz, Perros-Guirec...
    IMPORTANT: local public transport is poor in our village, but very good as soon as you reach Morlaix (buses and trains).
    PLEASE let me know if you come with your car or bike...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 or 4 hours a day, 4 or 5 days a week

construire une cabane...
beautiful bay
Sailing in summer
free hens

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 444641897553