3rd Generation Homestead (cleaning/painting/gardening) - near Griffith, NSW

Country

Australia

Favourited 45 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/07/2020

 
  • Description

    Description

    We are a busy, enthusiastic and friendly couple who are trying to make a good 'go of it'. We live about 40 min from Griffith on a mixed enterprise irrigation farm. Our main business involves cropping but we also support livestock and have part of the farm committed to a biodiversity project to encourage natural vegetation and re-growth. We are also actively involved in our community helping with the annual Carrathool Race Day (March), Gunbar Christmas Tree (Dec) and other delightful and fun gatherings.

    We are new parents and are enjoying the amazing trip that it is but there doesn't seem to be enough hours in the day to achieve the bigger things(and sometimes the little things!). We live in the main homestead which is an amazing rammed earth building built in the 1930s. It has seen larger families than ours and now it needs a bit of 'love' to see it last through this next generation and beyond. At the homestead, we are trying to manage general maintenance, painting and a large garden. On the property, we are renewing fencing, maintaining irrigation structures and working with livestock. So help with any of these activities would be greatly appreciated or if you can keep a 3 year old and 1 year old happily occupied I will get on with the 'jobs'. In return, we would hope that you get to know us a little(and maybe some of the fantastic people around us) and have some good conversation and enjoy this little part of the world.

    We are interested in two people (couple or singles) to help out on a voluntary basis for approx. 3-4 weeks or so at a time but the first week would be a trial period just in case we don't suit each other or something isn't to your liking. The work would be large scale gardening, olive tree tending and pruning and weed control or painting in and around the homestead and workers' cottages. There is nannying work also available if you have had some experience. You will have your own room and facilities and 3 meals will be supplied per day (unless you go off exploring somewhere) and we hope you will be able help us for about four days out of the week - we are flexible and reasonable.

    Please Note: Some of the work around the property could contribute to the rural work requirements for gaining your 2nd year visa however, with the changes to the visa requirements we have no guarantee that paid work will be available for the time you apply. Also the paid work that would suit the visa requirements could be quite physically demanding outdoor work so you need to be fit and prepared with a good sense of humour, common sense and some practical experience/skills ie. tending olive orchard, maintenance of farm buildings, tractor work, cultivating crops and weed control/removal.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Art Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We mainly need help cleaning, painting and restoring aspects of the main homestead, house yard cottage and a worker's cottages and garden. Experience with building, carpentry/joinery, plastering or painting highly desirable.

    It would be nice to know if you had a particular interest area (ie. garden design or maybe you like machinery, history, art or photography) so we can cater better for you. Maybe you would like to see sheep shearing, harvesting, irrigation etc. Please note your interests when you contact so that I can think of things that you might like to visit in the area.

    You are welcomed to get involved in farm work but it will physically demanding and there would need to be a safety chat first. However, this work would contribute to 2nd year visa requirements if you demonstrate aptitude and reliability for this type of paid work.

    NB. I would never ask anyone to do a job that I am not prepared to do myself or that they are uncomfortable with.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We can accommodate a couple or two singles (share a room). You will be staying in the main homestead and have your own large room leading onto a verandah and your own bathroom and toilet. The house is fully screened. We have wireless internet connectivity and mobile reception in the main homestead (Telstra only).

    Meals will be provided. Please let me know if you have any food intolerances or preferences.

    There are 2 yard dogs but no animals live in the house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 40min from Griffith (nearest larger town). It is approximately a 6hr drive from Sydney or Melbourne to get Griffith. Buses come through Griffith from Sydney and Melbourne. There is a Regional Airline (Rex Airline) that also flies daily to Griffith from Sydney.

    Having your own transport is bonus whilst traveling in rural Australia. But it is no matter if you don't have transport as we are happy to meet you when you arrive in Griffith and provide you with some transport while you stay with us. Please advise if you don't have transport and would need to be picked up.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5hrs per day; 4 days per week (negotiable)


Host ref number: 444461816436