Outdoor gardening, South Auckland, New Zealand


New Zealand

Favourited 246 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    My husband and I are in our late 40's/early 50's and in 2014 built our home on 2.5acres. My parents live with us in a separate part of the house. We have planted approx 5000 trees so far and have plans for more over the next few years. We have done this with the help of Trees For Survival and Auckland City Council. We have 3 dogs, a cat and 11 chickens.

    We both work full-time, so some help with keeping the grass down around the small trees, fencing repairs and getting rid of gorse & blackberry is a big job. We have a small stream on the boundary and we are hoping to turn the bottom half of the property into a forest/bush block. We have planted native trees to attract as many birds as possible and want to get some beehives as well.

    We have a large spare room with its own bathroom. Ideally suited to a couple or one person.

    We live close to Papakura Town Centre, which is in South Auckland. We are about 20 minutes drive from Auckland Airport so ideal for your first stop in NZ. We have also been able to help with opening bank accounts and getting paperwork/Visa's/vehicles organised for the rest of your time here.

    Ideally would be interested in meeting/hosting young people from Europe who don't mind spending time outside getting their hands dirty. Also people who have interest in living sustainably or off the land would be great to meet and learn from.

    Ideally we would like people who are able to work with minimal supervision, as we will be at work 5 days of the week. We would be happy to spend some time showing you around our part of the country when we have time, dropping you off at good walking spots and picking you up later in the day, etc.

    No smokers please

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will help with getting used to English, opening bank accounts, where to buy a car. Also ways to improve the land by planting trees to attract birds/bees and to help with erosion control.

  • Help


    2.5 acres with approx 5000 small trees that need weeding, mulching. Gorse & blackberry that needs cutting down/spraying. General labour to do with outdoor gardening.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Large bedroom with its own bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is public transport close by and we would be willing to show people around. We are a quiet couple who don't go out much. We enjoy our animals and our home life. My husband is into computers and can build/fix most things around the house. He is ex-army and enjoys the outdoors, hunting and fishing. I like to cook, read and work on our house & garden. I am fairly house-proud, so do not like messy/untidiness. We have met some awesome people so far and its been great seeing the progress on our gardens & trees, which we haven't got the time to do ourselves.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Recent addition to the garden art - made entirely from driftwood
Jonathan & Carolin from Germany
Pierre & Manon from France
Alexis & Manon from France
Great sunset shot taken by one of our Workawayers
Recent photo taken in the Hunua Ranges by one of our Workawayers
Lounge area
Planting tree day

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 443154914447