Woodland management, gardening, and home renovations near the village of Guemene sur Scorff, France



Favourited 63 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

  • Description


    We are originally from London and now restoring our house here in Brittany. Most of the work is being done by us so it's a bit slow going and we can always use some help.

    Good weather will generally find us working outside as there is always much to be done in managing neglected woodland, the surrounding land, potager, orchard and the garden areas.

    Outside of working on the projects we have on the go at any one time here, in the evenings we enjoy good food, conversation, music, films and the relaxed pace of life here in France.

    Our house is comfortable and clean, but it is a project in progress so there is still work to be done.
    There is also a stone house which we use for storage and a home gym. We have a tortoise and two kittens but no other animals at this time.

    Although it feels like you are far from anything when here. We are less than 5 mins away from Guemene sur Scorff by car which has a few bars, 3 restaurants, 2 bakeries, a very large supermarket and a few other small shops. Ploerdut town centre is also close by where you can find a couple of bars, a restaurant and a bakery.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We would love to practice talking french as our mother tongue is English. Our French is coming along, but as we live away from the town we have little opportunity to practice.

    We can show you several aspects of woodland management including using a chainsaw, operating a log splitter, creating a log stack as well as DIY skills.
    We create the majority of our meals from fresh ingredients including veg from the garden and we would be very happy to share recipes with you.

    Derek plays guitar and teaches a local group once a week at the local bar. If you are looking to learn guitar, maybe improve or to just have a jam at the end of the day there will be a guitar here for you to use.

    You would be welcome to use our home gym which includes an exercise bike, walker treadmill, elliptical trainer, a weights machine and a few free weights. Just let us know in advance so we can give them a good dusting off :0)

  • Help


    When the weather is nice we work outside and if it rains we work inside renovating the house. The external projects we currently have under way include :_
    Forest management including:-Clearing an area of neglected woodland with the aim of planting a forest garden at some point and tidying the area around our house and lakes. This may include cutting down trees using a chainsaw, splitting rounds, and either chipping branches or chopping and stacking wood. Removing overgrown plants in and around 3 small lakes and grass cutting.

    If you have any experience of gardening, landscaping or forestry management ideas, we would love to hear them.

    In terms of the house.We are doing all the work ourselves so again have lots of projects under way and need help with carpentry, plastering, and painting and decorating and all the tasks that go with renovating a house.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We will provide a double or single bedroom with full board. So we could accommodate a couple or 1or 2 singles. We are told that the food we provide is excellent and we are more than happy to cater for individual diet requirements.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest large town is Pontivy which has a rail station and bus routes to Guemene sur Scorff. If you are flying into France our nearest airports are in Lorient, Dinard, Quimper and Rennes.
    There are many cultural and historic attractions close by and the beaches are about 30 minutes away by car. Local villages have fetes, music or other activities on most weekends in the summer months.

    We are pescatarians and usually have a few vegetarian meals each week. We are however happy to cater for any type diet requirement as we prepare our meals from fresh ingredients daily.
    If you have any questions please do drop us a line. We will respond to every mail received.

    Happy travelling.

    Anne-Marie & Derek

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 442734562973