Are you into building a treehut, sauna, chopping wood or brushcutting, then join us for a great summer in Avo, Portugal



Favourited 27 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    Are you into building a treehut, sauna, chopping wood or brushcutting? Then my quinta is probably the place to be for you this summer!
    Its one hectare of terraces with lots of private places for your tent (or mine), close to a river with big rocks to jump from into cold water after working in the morning...
    I'm looking for 2 - 4 people to help me and some of my friends during the months july and august. We cook together in an outdoor kitchen and do some Open Mic and Pizzanights in a Woodoven for the local people. Here is the link to aibnb for some more info
    Just send me a message to introduce yourself..

  • Type of help

    Type of help


  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In Amsterdam I am a cook so I can learn you to survive with the nice fresh products of the land, but if you just want to sit back or play guitar at the fireplace you're welcome too..

  • Help


    Its already in the advertisement: for the building I probably have an friend/architekt at the place so you only have to ask for instructions. If you have experience yourself with building treehuts (or wood sauna) that would be interesting cause not sure if the architekt can stay for the whole 2 months.
    As there is no electricity I will hire a agregator.
    For the gardening I have a brushcutter and a chainsaw. And an axe of course so enough equipment to work on your bodyshape;-) There is also some reparation to do at the stone walls of the terraces which were damaged after heavy rainfall this winter.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, french, german and dutch (and a little portugese)

  • Accommodation


    hut, shed, big armytent and tipi (we have to build this one up together with 15 poles from someone in the neighbourhood)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Swimming is the best at the river who runs through the village, 20 minutes by foot from my house. Walking through the mountains is also beautiful; in 1 hour walk you arrive in the next village with even colder water.
    Every weekend there is a fiesta in one of the villages and during the week several music performances in the cafe's at the river.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 439373719879