Experience a small spiritual community life in the beautiful countryside in Väddö, Sweden



Favourited 202 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 25 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    Hello, my name is Helga. I have been travelling quite a lot, and my last discover was WorkAway. I had a nice experience and I want to give others this opportunity as well.

    I am so lucky to be able to provide a place for Volunteers at the spiritual community (ashram) where I grew up. It is located at the countryside, about 100km north of Stockholm, quite close to the baltic sea and right next to a deep forest.

    Around five people live at the ashram, and when there is an event going on, usually more people come to visit. The place is most active during summertimes, but the traditional ceremonies are done at all times of the year. You will have the opportunity to learn more about this when you apply.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the opportunity to experience a small community life at the beautiful countryside in Sweden. The garden and houses are very traditional Swedish so you will experience both the Swedish life at the countryside, and also the spiritual ceremonies and traditions we do, that origins from north of India, Himalaya.

    You will have the opportunity to learn about the aspect of spirituality we are practising, you can learn some Swedish, get to know new friends and embrace the community life surrounded with a forest with big biodiversity.

  • Help


    We are planning to build outdoor showers, compost toilets and a platform with a big tent. We are looking for three volunteers to help us with this. We are looking for at least one person with quite good building and maintenance experience, but if you don't have experience, don't hesitate to apply anyways, since we will try to create a crew of people with varied experiences providing an atmosphere for sharing and learning. There will also be people staying at the Ashram who can give directions.

    Sometimes we will also need help with the general maintenance. Also, you might help us in the house and in the garden, depending om when there is a project going on or not.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will share a little house with the other volunteers. It's one of the houses in the picture. In the house there is only beds, so if you need toilet, shower or the kitchen you can go to the main house. If you want your own place to sleep it is possible to sleep in a tent in the garden.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    What kind of person we are looking for:
    It's important to us that you are open to new experiences and aspects of spirituality, and different kinds of people. You have to be open minded in general. It's also important that you are energetic, positive and independent as a person. Furthermore, we prefer people who doesn't consume too much alcohol and tobacco. It is also good if you are a vegetarian/vegan. A big plus is if you know how to play drums, guitar or any other instrument since we do a lot of music together (mantras)

    What we can provide:
    -A relaxed time you can use to explore new sides of yourself and time to get to know new people.
    -Yoga room (outside in barn)
    -Location close to the ocean (bike or car), canal (bike/walk), a little lake (bike/walk) and a deep forest (just next to the ashram)
    -Fireplace for cooking and hanging out.
    -Berry and fruit-garden and mushrooms to pick if its season.
    -Location fairly close to Stockholm (close enough for a visit during your free days)

    Important to clarify:
    -We are looking for volunteers that can stay from 22nd of May-End of june\beginnin of July, so a little more than a month. If you for any reason need to change the dates or stay a bit shorter, let us now and we will talk about it.
    -Working hours: You will work 5 days a week approximately 4-5 hours a day more or less depending on the situation. You are free Saturday and Sunday.
    -Food: Sometimes there will be common meals everyone can join. When there is no one cooking you can prepare your own food, or together with the other volunteers. If you need to buy ingredients for that you can go to the closest village and then give us the receipt to get the money back.
    -It can be cold at night, even in summertimes, so bring warm clothes. The weather can be quite warm in summer too, so bring clothes for all kinds of weather, including rain. We have some working clothes if needed.
    -Use of alcohol and meat is forbidden in the ashram.
    -You will be a part of a crew with three volunteers. The rest of the people at the ashram will probably most of the time be Swedish. Everyone are quite good in English though.
    -The bus to the closest village where the Supermarket is doesn't go so often, especially not on week ends. But to join in a car that goes there is many times possible.
    -There are ticks (the small insects) in the forest. The disease "Tick-borne encephalitis" can be spread via these insects, but it is quite rare. If you want to be safe though, you can take a vaccine.

    When you apply, please fill in this questionnaire, be honest and authentic with your answer and read through the profile before you answer:
    -Can you commit yourself to stay from 22nd of May-End of june\beginning of July? If not, when within these dates can you stay?
    -Do you have any former experience of volunteering or living in a community? Tell us about it.
    -Tell us about your spiritual experience and interest in spirituality.
    -How would you describe yourself as a person?
    -What can you contribute to the community?
    -Why did you should to apply? What is the purpose/expectations of your stay?

    I will have a skype call with you before we can decide details about your stay here. We are looking forward to your application :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 438232494993