updated  

Help out creating a permaculture hub in a beautiful wild forest in the north of Italy

  • Favourited 892 times
  • Last activity: 28 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    *** We need 3-4 volunteers from the 17th until the 24th of June 2024 for a mini holistic festival we are organising here, we will need help in the kitchen as well as in preparing the spaces, and some gardening, thanks!***


    Hi, my name is Clementina, I'm 49 years old and 10 years ago I bought an old stone house in the middle of the forest, in the "appennino ligure" hills.

    Over the years we renovated the house using natural materials and we managed the land following permaculture principles. We have a nice vegetable garden, some fruit trees and an amazing forest where wild mushrooms and chestnuts can be harvested.

    Part of the house is dedicated to the activities and workshops we organise and often host. We have a nice yoga shala, a classroom for more manual activities and many facilities openair such as compost toilets, showers, outdoor kitchen, sweat lodge...
    The idea is to start a small ecovillage, where we can live 4-5 people in harmony with nature.
    We are a group of friends who are involved, on different levels, in the project, some come for the weekend, some will come and stay long term during the summer, although at the moment it's only me, Clementina living full time here.
    Sara who is a good friend and an amazing yoga teacher and thai massage therapist is moving in and making the transition since october 2023.

    We are located in a beautiful wild forest in the north of Italy. We almost finished renovating the farm stone building from the 17th century but there's always something to fix or to build...
    We constantly work in the vegetable garden, planting trees, keeping the brumbles down, ecc. There's a lot to do as the place was abandoned for 20 years!
    The property consist of 50 hectars (mainly forest) in a natural park, we have a swimmable river near the house, a lot of nice walks, mountain bike, etc.

    The nearest city is Genova (40km), the closest town Ovada.
    We offer vegetarian food, mostly grown on site or from neighbouring farms.
    We have amazingly good spring water coming out of a rock in front of the house!
    We have two cats: Fumo and Cobra and a dog Savia.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers who come to our place will experience living in harmony with nature and trying to be as much as possible self sustained. There's always friends coming to the house so you will learn more about local culture.

  • Help

    Help

    The help required will be around 5 hours a day, 5 days a week, plus sometimes cooking together. We sometimes need help in the renovation of the house with natural materials such as wood, we also need help in the gardens, we will work in the synergic vegetable garden, cutting grass, preparing wood for winter, collecting wild edible plants, planting trees. Part of the volunteering job will consist in the general maintenance of the house and we will share the cooking duties (also making bread and pizzas with sour dough in the wood oven).
    We often need help during the retreats we organise/host, like food preparation and othr tasks.

    VERY IMPORTANT: Thanks for applying ONLY if you are adaptable to rustic life and willing to work in team

    We try to have a sustainable way of living so please don't bring any chemical soaps and try to avoid food with a lot of packaging, we also use compost toilets to be more in tune with nature.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would love to learn more about spanish and portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can choose between privacy in your own tent as the land is big and we have some basic camping facilities (compost toilet, outdoor shower), or a shared basic accomodation inside the house (max 4 people sleeping in a mezzanine)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    during time off you can enjoy the surrounding nature, go for a walk or swim in the river, you can also reach genova with a train (from ovada station).

    IMPORTANT: WE ACCEPT ONLY TRAVELLERS WITH INSURANCE.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There's a nice office space for digital nomads, the internet connection is good but not amazing, expecially for upload. Zoom meetings work well.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can host a small or medium campervan in a nice, flat and shady field, 300 mt from the house. We cannot provide electricity nor water in the field but closed by you can recharge and refill... the compost toilet is not far neither.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We can accept workawayers with very calm and kind dogs, only if you sleep in tents or campervan. Most of the land is not fenced so it is the workawayers responsability to look after their pets

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 436485388513

Feedback (19)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.5)























Learn about self sufficiency and natural gardening in Roccamorice, Province of Pescara, Italy
Help us on small family organic farm in Tuscany, Italy