Get to the highest point you can visit in Europe and help on a farm in Muerren, Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

Favourited 292 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/08/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    545

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young family (Sarah (34), Ruedi (35) with a little boy and soon another baby) and we live in beautiful Muerren on 1‘650m altitude, and enjoy life where other people are on holiday.... :-)

    We have got a farm with about 20 mother cows and about the same number of calves. We produce our own beef meat and sell it to restaurants and private households of our region.

    In winter Ruedi works in the stable and takes care of the cows, repairs machines.... Sarah works as a teacher in a secondary school.

    In summer time we need a lot of helping hands outside on the fields mowing, making hay, putting up fences, bringing cows to new fields, checking whether they are okay and much more! This is when and why we need YOU!!! :-)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Muerren is a famous place for tourists as we have great view on Switzerlands most known mountains Eiger, Moench and Jungfrau. The village is a car-free place, which you can only reach by gondola or by foot. It has got a lot of old typical Swiss chalet houses.

    From Muerren you can go further up to Schilthorn, which is famous for skiing, hiking, the revolving restaurant at the top and the James Bond museum, as they produced an old Bond movie (On Her Majesty‘s Secret Service) here.

    Muerren is the perfect starting place to go hiking, biking, swimming, doing adventure sports as climbing, mountaineering, paragliding, skiing, basejumping or skydiving... In winter there are lots of slopes to go skiing, snowboarding, cross-country skiing, freeriding, sledding, snowshoeing or hiking.

    We are also very near the Jungfraujoch, which is the highest point you can visit in Europe (by train through the Eiger mountain). An impressive experience!

    But Muerren is also a great place for relaxing, enjoying the beauty of nature, visiting lots of waterfalls, eating great Swiss food, taking unique pictures...

    Within one hour you can reach Interlaken, and enjoy the lakes, cinema, more restaurants, go shopping and much more.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for a very sporty person, that can also work on uneven and steep ground... :-)
    A person, that wants to help outside, helps mowing and making hay, helps bringing cows to new fields, building up new fences, sometimes also helping the forest and much more.... :-)
    A person, that also helps us in, at and around our house and in the garden, which we are both renovating, when the weather is bad and when we have got time for this....
    A person which has general knowledge about machines, if possible has a driving licence, and most of all: A person, that wants to work hard, learn new things, is friendly and in a good temper and helps wherever possible. :-)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    German, French and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You can stay at our house and have your own room and bathroom with shower (which (bathroom) you eventually sometimes share with another workawayer).

    Depending on your working time, you can also eat with us... If you’re working in the morning, we will provide breakfast and lunch. If you work in the afternoon, we provide dinner. :-)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    help is always half a day, 5 days a week - you might also help full days and get some other days off

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 433632338175