Help a guide and sustainable homesteader build something amazing in Alaska

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hello!

    My name is Jerami. Over the past 7 years, I have designed a few permaculture farms, remodeled a house, a sailboat, built and sold an urban farm, greenhouses, geodesic domes, a tiny house and an aquaponics systems. I have hosted and taught 40+ people permaculture, aquaponics and other subsistence skills.

    For 10 years before that I worked as a guide fishing and owned/managed lodges.

    If you are looking to come to Alaska and find a place to stay in exchange for work, I have plenty available for minimum wage, and housing is included.

    I have just sold a lodge, building another off-grid sustainable homestead and need help. It will be a combination of lodging, eco-tours, farming and subsistence.

    Your responsibilities would be supporting us with household activities so I can focus on design and construction:

    Duties:
    Cooking,
    cleaning,
    helping elderly,
    driving,
    tending to gardens,
    helping build our online presence through social media
    writing and media forbuilding a website

    Opportunities to learn include:
    Making ferments, wine, kombucha, kimchi, etc.
    Making different gardens and greenhouses
    Growing and foraging
    Fishing, boating, sailing, hiking, Alaska wilderness travel and survival
    Driving a car, truck, boat
    Permaculture
    Aquaponics
    Growing culinary mushrooms
    Small building projects

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn to be a jack of all trades - design, permaculture, homesteading, subsistence lifestyle and survival. I have boats, friends with airplanes and cabins and travel to any of these is frequent. If there is room, join me on a wilderness hike, road trip, or adventure. You also have the option to go do your own thing in your spare time.

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    One week trial period. If you do not work hard, we will not be able to house you. The schedule is primarily 8am-noon. I like to plan in advance. I prefer a month stay after you make it past the week-long trial but some good workers have stayed all summer when they feel it is a good fit.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Chinese (Mandarin): Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am decent in Spanish, beginner in Russian, German and Chinese. Am open to learn any languages - Hindi, Arabic, Persian, Farsi, French, Russian, Japanese!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Motorhome, sailboat or cabin available. Some options are off-grid, but the motorhome is self sufficient and comfortable. You may have to share quarters, but you will have your own bed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Anchorage has 400,000 people, so there is plenty to do socially. We have a sweet new rock gym, state-of-the art yoga studios, and a variety of things to do in order to stay sane during the long nights a, whether summer or winter, such as theaters, restaurants, night clubs, etc. The house is in a residential area of the city, and you can be at any of these within 20 minutes on a the worst traffic days.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have internet and if you need better bandwidth, there is also a cafe near by. You will have a few hours a day for studies, work or having fun.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    I have a campground area but your camper needs to be self contained.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Dog or cat if you house them in your own campervan, or they stay outside.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 433578465566

Feedback (5)



Photos

Feedback






A cultural exchange with our family in beautiful western Massachusetts, USA
Help with gardening and DIY at my home in Anchorage, Alaska, USA