Help at a shelter for homeless and abandoned cats and dogs based in San Ramon, Chanchamayo, Peru

Country

Peru

Favourited 399 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/03/2019

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Oriana, I am 39 years old and Peruvian and have always lived in this part of Peru. I speak Spanish, English and Portuguese.

    I currently singlehandedly run the shelter for homeless and abandoned Cats and Dogs. The shelter is located in the beautiful jungle region of Chanchamayo, in a small town called San Ramon and has been running since 2013. We recently relocated to a new house with more space and even a outside area. We are dedicated to rescuing abandoned, injured and abused animals, providing shelter and medical care, with an ultimate aim to find safe, new homes where these beautiful dogs and cats are loved and protected as members of the family.

    I have learned to detect some diseases and give basic medical support within the little knowledge that I have. For more complex care, the animals are treated by a local vet. All animals that come to the shelter are sterilised, vaccinated and given anti-parasitic treatments.

    Our longer-term aim is to set up the project as a Charity Non-Profit Organisation which we hope will provide more financial stability for the shelter. Donations (financial / food / medicines) are of course always welcome!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Charity Work
    Teaching

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    San Ramon is a laid-back, friendly and safe town. There are very few international tourists here and it's a great opportunity to practice your Spanish and have a truly authentic experience.

  • Help

    Help

    I am working to improve the shelter, and in order to do that, I am looking for animals lovers to assist with the following:

    Feeding the animals - I currently provide Dog Chow and Cat Chow Cookies and supplements several days a week, along with cooked rice, chicken soup with vegetables and raw eggs.
    Walking the puppies / dogs (once a day)
    Bathing the animals
    Playing with the animals
    Cleaning the shelter
    Basic construction / maintenance of the shelter
    Veterinary care / cutting nails
    De-worming treatments (every three months for the adult dogs and cats and every month for the puppies and kittens)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have two spare rooms (one with a double bed) and one with a large single bed with a private shower / toilet.

    Food is provided in the house - volunteers would be required to cook / prepare the meals.

    The house is on the outskirts of San Ramon, 20-25 minutes walking distance to the centre of the town or just 5-10 minutes biking or in a moto taxi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    San Ramon is located in the Chanchamayo Region of Central Peru- 8 hours over the Andes, from Lima. It is a beautiful area with a year round hot / sunny climate and plenty of places to explore - an abundance of waterfalls, lots of flora and fauna, native communities, great coffee! and amazing variety of exotic fruits and typical Peruvian foods.

    San Ramon has restaurants and bars as well as the weekly local market (Fridays) with amazing fresh fruit and vegetables at very low prices, and the bigger, commercial town of La Merced is located just a 10 minute drive away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 433544524247