Help with DIY, permaculture and animals with an intentional community in a very unique house in NY State, USA

  • United States
  • Favourited 468 times
  • Last activity: 15 Sep 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks



  • Description


    Hi I am Angela, a yoga instrutor, Spritual Empath and healer. I concentrating efforts on re-habing and finishing my home to become a place of healing incorporating permaculture, yoga, art, upcycling, animal/nature/farm therapy. I live in an intentional community in a very unique house, the very first one built here, on this 450 acre land trust. There is a large garden, small flock of sheep, a draft horse, two dogs, and a cat.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn how to commune with nature and animals. Tree and plant identification and uses. Permaculture concepts, theory, design and and application and the eye to observe. Meditation and energetic understandings. Yoga

  • Help


    I really need strong people experienced with using tools (but also can teach these skills) and doing construction for various construction/building jobs. Help is needed with the animals (sheep and draft horse, cat, dog), gardening. There are trees to cut and always firewood to move and stack. Top priority is working on the inside of the house on an eco project to build-out/finish the basement and build a Russian fireplace and adding a floor. We will be working with a various alternative building materials. Bring your enthusiasm and a good work ethic. You will learn permaculture, horticulture, animal husbandry and communication, and eco-building, yoga, and I can do energetic healing work on you if needed. We will be working towards making this a healing space that supports our connections to all things through nature, yoga, art and animals. Come help out and get HEALTHIER and more connected. I encourage and facilitate Spiritual development and find that drugs are counterproductive to this. There is much hard work to do, as this place is really at the beginning stages of things...please bring clothes appropriate for farm work and construction as well as a creative and open mind.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Trailer or tent. I am limited to host someone in seasonable weather, as there isn't space in the house just yet, due to the current construction. But there is an airstream trailer you can stay in and the beginnings of a tent platform in the woods and a sunny spot down by the pond next to the garden (I also have tents).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is pond swimming and hiking and waterfalls nearby in the pond. Sometimes there are small gatherings and bonfires.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is a bit of space...we an find a place to accomodate.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours maximum

Host ref number: 4282772424d5

Feedback (4)



Forest life with our French family in Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Help our family and enjoy outdoor life near Salt Lake City, USA