Gardening and maintenance help for our eco-conscious community, Capelo, Ilha do Faial, Azores

Country

Portugal

Favourited 37 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/03/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a community dedicated to expanding our horisons using home grown foods and medicines. We are serious about honouring the environment; we try not to burn fossil fuels, we try to eliminate plastic, we avoid preservatives. We eat as far as possible from the garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    A good place to engage with natural medicines (plants, fungi, etc), learn about the flora on this island, read, meditate, nature walks, yoga, visit volcanoes and other tourist attractions.

  • Help

    Help

    Challenging gardening and maintenance on the steep slopes of a volcano. Plenty of outdoor tasks, but also indoor infrastructure maintenance. Much of it is weather dependant - the Azores winters can be tough! And summers can be paradise!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Afrikaans: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    French: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedrooms in the house. Shared bathroom, kitchen. Private accommodation is also possible. Shared meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is a lot to explore on this little island. During free time, visit volcanoes and lighthouses, sea caves, go whale watching, explore nearby islands, ...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have fast unlimited internet - good for video conferencing.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 427576541894