Help run and improve Namibia's coolest surf hostel

Country

Namibia

updated  

Favourited 251 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a passionate surfer and cook trying to live in a sustainable way, so I decided to set up this Backpackers in 2017. We opened in July 2017 but the backpackers is a long-term project in that it is to continually grow and improve.

    Having only 10 beds we are a small backpackers and are situated in Namibia's tourist hub on the rugged Atlantic Ocean coastline in the town of Swakopmund. We are the only accommodation in Swakopmund geared towards surfers - it's only one hour to the world-famous Skeleton Bay and many other surf spots are nearby.

    There are daily routine tasks requiring little time, for example reception duties like check-ins, check-outs,new bookings and other general management, but helpers can and should also get involved using there own creativity and initiative in projects ranging from gardening to decoration to general maintenance to adding new facilities and so forth.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Meet cool local people, surf, make new friends and do as the locals do. Swakopmund is a small town but the town and area have so much to offer! Being here, I hope, will also teach visitors a thing or two about sustainable urban living.

  • Help

    Help

    As a volunteer you are expected to be at the backpackers or close by whenever it is necessary to check guests -in and -out, answer guests' questions, answer the phone and doorbell, log new bookings and adjust availability. You will not be busy all the time but the some planning is required to see what needs to be done - there is lots of time to relax and explore the area or sometimes join us for a surf session.

    If we are very quiet and even more so if there is a second helper around and you want to go on a trip for a few days, this normally can be arranged.

    Specific skills/interests we are looking for in Helpers:
    *️️️️️️️️️️️social media help
    *️️️️️️️️️️️building of outdoor shower, deck, pizza oven etc
    *️️️️️️️️️️️murals and decoration
    *️️️️️️️️️️️landscaping & gardening including hydroponics, grey water systems, permaculture)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️website development help

    Helpers should have the following attributes:
    *️️️️use own initiative, be observant with an attention to detail to keep everything running smoothly
    *️️️️️️️️️️️practical/problem solving: fixing, making and maintaining things, using tools and power tools
    *️️️️️️️️️️️motivated to get a job done quickly and efficiently
    *️️️️️️️️️️️longer-staying helpers are preferred
    *️️️️️️️️️️️creative use of materials and resources

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Afrikaans, basic French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own lockable room in the main house of the backpackers, which can sleep two. You share the kitchen, bathroom, lounge and dining room with guests and if you're cool can also hang out in the manager's apartment:)

    Cash meal allowance provided + occasional joint dinners with manager (I love to cook but helper is welcome to cook too:)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Some more info on the job and location:
    -Smoking allowed outside
    -5 minutes walk to shops and town centre - the ocean is 10 minutes walk away.
    -Our town is ideal to walk or cycle and we have bicycles available.
    -Transport to Swakopmund, Namibia is at helper's expense
    -Disclaimer: We as the host are not responsible for any loss/injury sustained during your stay here and it is recommended to have travel insurance for medical emergencies.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.5)










Host ref number: 426581267534