Renovating a huge old farmhouse in a lovely rural area in Thuringia, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 24 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/06/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    5 years ago we were abroad in Ireland as workawayers with 3 lovely families.
    Now its time to turn the table :-) We got married, bought an old farmhouse, adopt a dog and two cats, got a baby in 2019 and expecting another one in 2021 <3

    Together with Uli's parents, who have 3 big dogs, we got this 300 years old farmhouse in a rural area in Thuringia surrounded by gentle hills.
    Two appartements are already renovated, at least one more is to go. There ist also a huge garden and some stables that request our atention (and work).
    Main tasks are organizing, get rid of old stuff, set up a stonewall, restaurating old doors, painting old bims ... You should be ready to use your hands ;-)

    We, this is Chris (33), Uli (32) and little Oskar (2) live in one appartement. Our workawayers stay in our appartement in their one room, kitchen and bathroom is shared. The grown ups have fulltime jobs during the week and can work on the farmhouse mainly on weekends. During the week its quite busy with getting up, having breakfast, bringing Oskar to the Kindergarten, strat working, having a quick lunch, keep on working, picking up Oskar fron the Kindergarten and enjoying the afternoon and evening as family as much as possible, but there are always many tasky to do on the house.
    On the weekends we shifting our time to get our new flat in the house ready.

    Ulis parents, Peter (63) and Sabine (62), live in the other appartement with their 3 big dogs (Leonbergers).

    We are an open minded family, love to have people around working and chilling together. On the weekends it's not uncommon that friends or family members visit us and lend us a helping hand at the farmhouse.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn how to renovate an 300 years old farmhouse, living with a 3 generation family, practice your german if you want to, improve your gardening skills, enjoy the time with a lovely little boy, get to know many people from our family and friends.

  • Help

    Help

    Being great in renovating an old house would be perfect for us.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Seperate bedroom in our appartement. Sharing the bathroom and the kitchen with Chris, Uli and Oskar.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    This is a lovely nature place where you can walk for hours.
    Next cities are 30 minutes away by car or 1 hour by bus.
    You should look for a calm place where you can stay with a lovely family :-)
    We are flexiterian ... means most of the time we do not eat meat only sometimes.
    We do not smoke and do not like to have someone around who smokes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 426217151168