Join my life and help with General cleaning, garden work and help with the animals in Yorkshire, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 186 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    20  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    818

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have recently moved to this new area. I make handbags, design wallpaper and other items and I need more time to focus on these projects. However, my family of animals need me too and I can not split myself in two. So I need a great companion who can help me with my animals, upkeep of the house, keeping the garden weed-free and occasionally help me make meals or even offer to make something.

    The only strict routine in the day is the dog walking, which has to be early mornings and evenings. I tend to get up early and have done the dog walking and had breakfast by 9 a.m., ready to start my day. I am looking for a like-minded person who doesn't mind the early mornings, especially whilst the summer is here and the mornings are light!

    I do Craft Fairs once a month, on a Sunday in York and other odd days, I may have to work away from the house. So I need somebody who is self-motivated and is happy to be left alone.

    I am happy to give private English lessons in exchange for a few extra hours work/help.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My native tongue is English. I am a qualified TEFL teacher. I can offer English both spoken and written.
    I love music and craft, as well as theatre, cooking and socialising,

  • Help

    Help

    General cleaning, garden work and help with the animals is all I need now, which includes dog walking. A bit of cooking, if you enjoy doing it.

    I treat any Workaway as part of the family and involve them in my social life, so I need somebody who enjoys going out socialising and is happy to join in my life. A person who enjoys meeting other people.

    Also, the dogs live in the house and naturally they take up as much space as I do on the sofa, so it's important that someone would be happy to sit on the same settee as the dogs and wouldnt be offended by the dogs cuddling up to them. Naturally there is dog hair too, but I am house proud.

    The ideal person would not be clock watching but be happy to "muck in" at any time as there isnt any set routine, most of the time. The dogs usually are walked in th morning and in the evening. Although during the summer months, I prefer an early start so that the animals and the jobs are finished by lunchtime.
    I look forward to meeting you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (fluent), French (pretty fluent), German (good) Dutch ( good), Spanish (basic)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom and use of family bathroom ( which would be for the Workaway's own use most of the time , unless I had family/friends visiting ). I have my own en suite.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The village is near a Railway station and is easily accessible by foot. It may take 20/25 minutes to walk to the station, or there is a bus from the village too to the station, which will take about 8 minutes. The train goes to York and to Leeds, but you can change at either of these stations and go much further e.g. London, Edinburgh etc.
    There are lots of things to see in this area too. The next village of Towton has very old and historical background, which dates back to the 1500's.
    The coast can be accessed via York and from there you can get to Scarborough, Whitby, Filey and other coastal towns.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week













Host ref number: 421286359773