Help with renovations on a gorgeous historic house on the hill in Eymoutiers, France

Country

France

Favourited 30 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/12/2019

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,

    I have been renovating my historic house here in the heart of the Limousin for the last 3 years or so. The house is run as a bed and breakfast throughout the year. A lot of the major work on the house is done, but needless to say, with a property of this age, work is always on-going.

    The house itself dates from 1889 and stands in a fantastic position in the town. overlooking the most wonderful view of Eymoutiers.

    The garden (about one third acre) is not brilliant and now needs attention. Recently, I have had a large conifer hedge removed from around an over-grown vegetable plot and I am now looking to tidy up this part of the garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The experience will allow you to meet and talk with a range of guests (mostly French, but other international visitors also arrive), gain and use your skills. I would be happy to provide job references for successful workers.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for people who can do gardening work: clear and level land, cut back shrubs, weed, remove ivy from walls (quite high), dig the garden etc. The main clearance work has been done.
    Some help with the running of the B&B may also be required/ general housework and maintenance.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double or twin bedroom with en-suite. Meals provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Eymoutiers is about 40 minutes from Limoges. The airport is about 10 mins outside Limoges (by car). There's also a train station 5 minutes walk from my house; trains run regularly to Limoges and down to Ussel.

    I am also very close to the Lac du Vassiviere, an enormous activities lake which draws thousands of people every year.

    There is plenty of opportunity for hill walking/hiking/fishing/cycling and water activities around here. There's also a Summer lido less than 10 minutes walk away.

    Eymoutiers is a small attractive town, with a few coffee shops and restaurants, it's not enormous but it has everything you need.

    Cats live at this house - just mentioning in case of allergies!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 419914799478