Enjoy organic / permaculture projects on the coast 3 hours north of Sydney, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 126 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 11 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Darrall is a designer and PhD (education) academic working part time at a Sydney University. Philippa uses permaculture/organic principles and started a Community Garden in our small village. We also have 1 acre of our own land and gardens for growing fruit and veggies… many eaten by birds and wallabies... but that's ok.

    We always have diverse landscaping projects suitable for all levels of skills - opportunities to learn and share in a safe environment... Philippa is particularly interested in composting.

    We designed our own home with pentagon-shaped rooms overlooking the inland sea of Port Stephens, a protected marine park known as ‘dolphin city’ that we often explore on our boat.
    Behind the house is 1000 acres of walkable bushland full of trees and native birds. Shops, white sand / blue water beaches and sand dunes are just a 20 minute drive (see Tea Gardens / Hawks Nest).
    The closest town 10kms away is KARUAH, (on the bus route from Sydney to Queensland) and our house is only 5kms from the M1 highway. Healthy meals. No children. Accommodation is in-house (non-smoking, no drugs). Length of stay is negotiable.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    English language through conversation. Permaculture principles through application in the garden. Sometimes there are fishing and boating opportunities and we have a vast range of bird life with wallabies that are often visiting. Understandings of natural geometry built into the design of the house and studio.

  • Help

    Help

    We like visitors to feel that they can help on a project in the garden and as we are only just beginning to organise vegetable and fruit growing, garden beds and pathways there is a lot of scope and variety. Depending on weather indoor help could involve cooking and general maintenance.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is very comfortable with two large carpeted guest bedrooms suitable for two guests in each room. It's a non-smoking house with reasonable internet access through wifi (80Gig limit).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport in the village but sometimes we can give lifts to the beach, restaurants and shops at the nearby town of Tea Gardens where there is a ferry boat to the Holiday resort town of Nelson Bay. There are Whale Watch, Dolphin / Fishing Cruises, Skuba Diving courses and snorkelling trips. We can also give a lift to buses into Newcastle (second biggest city in New South Wales) which is about a one hour journey with access from there to the Hunter Valley wine region.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Average 5 hours a day, 5 days a week











Host ref number: 419472948181