Help at our organic family farm in rural mid-Devon, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 150 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on a 240 acre organic family farm in rural mid-Devon. I have a flock of 200 breeding sheep and a herd of 28 cows whose offspring are all fattened on the farm. The farm also grows arable crops and we have recently planted about 9 acres of woodland. We produce clean energy from an array of solar panels. If I could ever find the time I would love to grow vegetables in my garden.
    I am particularly looking for help now as my partner is away for a few months so I would like some extra hands to help with all tasks. There is a very comfortable holiday cottage on the farm which will be available as accommodation and ideally I would like a couple to come and live in it for the early months of the year. Food will be provided, and while there are full cooking facilities in the cottage visitors will be very welcome to take some meals with the family.
    We have two teenage children still at home, two very friendly dogs, a cat and a horse.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will welcome visitors into our family and will be very happy to pass on knowledge about caring for sheep and many other aspects of organic livestock farming.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    The main activity on the farm is care of sheep and cattle. As it is winter all our cattle are housed so feeding and bedding them will be a daily task. Sheep also need feeding at this time of year. March is lambing and calving time, so much time then will be spent looking after lambing ewes and newborn lambs. Plenty of hands-on experience will be available for those who would like it.

    There will also be farm maintenance work to do including fence repair, hedge laying, wood chopping etc, and maybe some gardening work or even some cleaning in the farmhouse. Farming is not always predictable, and visitors should be willing to help out with whatever comes up.

    Some experience with livestock would be an advantage. A liking for animals and confidence around them is essential as is a willingness to sometimes work alone when necessary.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, A little French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a recently converted and extremely comfortable two- bedroom holiday cottage very close to our house which will be available to workawayers. We will provide breakfast food in the cottage. Other meals may be taken with us or in the cottage by arrangement.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in a very beautiful part of Devon, and within reach of Dartmoor and Exmoor. North and South coasts are both about an hour's drive away. There are buses from nearby villages (3 miles) to Exeter which is the county town with all amenities. We have bikes that we can lend you for getting around locally.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours a week






Host ref number: 419432718869