Stay with us and help with help with rescue dogs and retired horses in Prado del Rey, Spain



Favourited 769 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description


    << We have space from mid september again >>
    Hola, I am Conny, german, and living in a rural place of rolling hills in the andalusian countryside, 5km from the nearby village Prado del Rey. I moved here 20 years ago, and I am actually running a horse riding business in a nearby country hotel and am usually quite busy with that. That´s why I need some help with our own home.

    Our place is quite remote with no direct neighbours living nearby, just lots of nature to look at, our dogs, cats and retired horses around. My place is quite off grid, without running water, with compost toilet, and limited electricity, please see details further down. So please only apply if you are sure you can live that way, or if you are not sure, apply for a short enough term you know you have the guts to stand it. That saves me a lot of energy in any ways, thank you.

    The nearest village Prado del Rey is a quite lively little town of 6000 inhabitants, with lots of nice cafes to hang out in 45 minutes walking distance, but most times I can probably drop you off. From the village you can take buses to all bigger towns around, like Jerez, Cadiz, Seville and Ronda on your days off. There are also 2 nature reserves nearby with some of the most beautyful mountain villages of Andalucia.

    As I might be out during the day, you should be happy with working and being on your own during part of the day at least. We need self reliant people that are happy to organise the tasks by themselves.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can try out to live a simple life close to nature, learn about horses and planting, etc,etc, and at the same time get to know some real andalusian life style in the nearby villages and cities

  • Help


    There are three main blocks where I need help with, and tasks can be quite mixed.

    > One would be helping with the dogs. I always have a few stray dogs I picked up to live with me, but have little time to spend with them. So one of the things is taking them for a daily walk and spend some cuddle time.

    > The second is help with the horses. A mentioned above, I am running a little horse riding business, but for legal reasons can not ask for volunteer work in this area.

    But I also have a few retired horses at home, that are happy about some ground work, massages, carrot stretchings, brushing, etc, and need their daily food and water.
    Even if there is not much riding in this task, I definitely prefer people with horse experience, as you might be helping with the horses by yourself. Also, in your free time, you could join some of our regular rides for free, if available. In that case please make sure to have an accident insurance that includes horse riding, as you will not be a paying guest.

    > The third kind of help is a lot of outside and garden tasks, like weeding, watering, and later in the year planting new trees to help retain the soil, fencing, etc.

    A bit of flexibility in helpers hours would be fine as there might be longer and shorter days.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, spanish, german

  • Accommodation


    We have 1 twin room with a bunk bed. You might be sharing the room with another person of the same sex for part of your stay. In any case, the flat is quite small, and kitchen and bathroom are shared with us. All household tasks are also shared.

    The house is solar powered and you must be conscient with using the light and water, as both are limited. Hair dryers will collaps the system for several days and even charging computers can be too much. Mobile phone chargers are ok. Our toilet is a self built compost toilet which does not use water. The shower is bucket shower or camping shower, and water has to be heated in the kitchen for it if it is not sunny. So please only apply to us, if you can enjoy a very simple lifestyle close to nature.

    Internet is available at the yoga hotel where I run the horse rides during summer season, and in many cafés in the city, but not at our home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I hope to to have decribed everything, but if you have any more questions, we will be happy to answer them!
    Feel free to write in english, german or spanish :)

    I speak German, spanish and english, but there is little english spoken in the área, though people are very friendly and helpful.

    Meals are taken at our house or sometimes taken to the horses´place, and my cooking is usually simple but with fresh ingredients and mostly vegetarian.

    Meeting point is usually the local bus station in Prado del Rey or in Villamartin.
    The closest by airports are Jerez, Seville (1,5 hours each) and Málaga (3,5 hours in bus).
    And the bus company to get here is www.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    preferably 4 hours per day on 6 days per week, or 5 hours per day on 5 days per week

renovated compot toilet
horses at home in wnter
Terrasse improved thanks to Taylor and Loretta!
and cleaning tack
Lisa and Hester stacking hay
Walking the dogs
Kevin's compost bins
Our new workawayer twin room, I hope you like it!
in Prado del Rey
and basic bathroom
simple kitchen

Host ref number: 418491657352