Help out on our plant nursery/berry farm and stay on Vancouver Island, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 204 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    17  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    83

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    For the Spring and Summer we are welcoming helper to come and stay at our place. Our property is located in Fanny Bay, on the central-east-coast of Vancouver Island. Doreen lives here with William, our cat.

    We offer a place to sleep, food and good company. In exchange we ask you for 20 hours of work each week and that you respect the house rules. After work our helpers typically spend the day relaxing in the sun, going for bike rides to the beach or to Denman and Hornby Island and hiking on some of the many trails in the area. We also have fishing gear to use, so long as you show proof of a BC Fishing Licence, which can be purchased in town. Town is a quick 25 minute scenic bus ride from our house, where almost anything can be found. The dock nearby is a great place to view sea lions and occasionally killer whales can be seen from the shore in Fanny Bay. The beaches are beautiful and easily accessed from our house, by bike or by walking through a nature trail.

    The work in the summer is fairly easy. Mostly we have volunteers in to pick berries and help with gardening. Occasionally, when we don't have any berries to pick or gardening to do, we work on some of the nature trails we are building in our forest for our private campground and informative trail. Our place is great if you like being in nature.

    There is a two-person kayak, some bicycles and fishing gear that you can borrow.

    You don’t need any specific skills to work here, but you must be able to work unsupervised.

    Helpers are expected to help with cooking and cleanup, which is pretty normal. We love to have our international helpers cook a traditional meal from their country.

    Send me a message if you are interested.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Helpers can learn about the Comox Valley, plant propagation, vegetable gardening and fruit harvesting. Doreen is a talented painter and needle felter as well and loves to teach.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people to help with building the campsites, picking fruit, weeding the gardens, harvesting vegetables, taking cutting and potting plants.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in clamping tents. Each tent has a double bed, chairs, table and power. The main house has the bathroom and kitchen. We are building an outdoor shower and bathroom this summer which is a win for everyone.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A short walk from our house you can find a forest with a small river and walking trail, a number of pebble beaches and the Fanny Bay Inn. Within a 15 minute bicycle ride there is the Denman Island ferry and, in the other direction, the Rosewall Creek Nature Reserve.

    On Denman Island there a number of funky shops, art galleries and diners. On the other side of this small island is the ferry to Hornby Island, a small island home to artists and hippies. Both islands have circular bicycle routes and can be completed together in 5-7 hours, including the boat rides, depending on your pace. We have well-maintained bicycles for helpers to use. Overnight camping is also available at Tribune Bay Park on Hornby Island, and we have some small tents that can be borrowed for that.

    Rosewall Creek Nature Reserve runs along a small river in the forest. The hike takes about 45 minutes each way . The trail winds its way through boreal forest and patches of devil's-club, beside the river and ends at a tall, cascading waterfall amongst large conifer trees.

    The best way to get to our place is by car, but there are buses that come from Courtenay, Nanaimo and Victoria. To get to Fanny Bay from Vancouver; take the Horseshoe Bay Ferry to Nanaimo (Departure Bay). From Departure Bay you can take the IslandLink Bus to Buckley Bay. It is best to reserve your seats in advance for the bus. We can pick you up in Buckley Bay, which is close to our house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    20 hours each week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.6)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)
















Host ref number: 418255649443