Home Help in West Cork, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 255 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 3, myself and teenagers ages 16 and 14. Life is busy with school and sport (we love martial arts!) and music, gardening and swimming in the sea are the essential common threads that keep us smiling.

    We have space for 1 volunteer only. We are looking for your help!
    Minimum stay 2 weeks

    So whether you feel your skills are gardening, digging, weeding, clearing, building, cleaning or finding inventive ways to engage with teens, we welcome your inquiries!

    Looking forward to hearing from you
    Ciara :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is an opportunity to experience life in beautiful and scenic West Cork in the sunny south of Ireland. A unique place where travellers may find a solace to rest or a dynamic project to launch into! So many interesting people have settled here that it makes for a culturally rich and diverse part of the country. The scenery and local history may be of interest and I will do my best to be your tour guide. You will experience life with an Irish family. I am happy to spend time helping you improve your English or another language if I can! I teach Tae Kwon Do and can share some basic knowledge with you, if you like. It's a fun way to stay fit and flexible. We also play music and have lots of instruments here :)

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help is mostly needed in the household or gardening outdoors. We grow our own vegetables here in raised beds and also have use of land nearby. This is a family volunteering position and we all live quite closely together and expect everyone to contribute their energy to the household. We will welcome you as part of our family and look forward to learning more about you :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Irish: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner
    Swedish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation will be a shared room with us at home. There is free Wi-Fi, a friendly indoor cat and because we live right in the village, everything is within walking distance.
    Please note, we are 2 hours from the nearest city and half an hour from the closest town. This is country life!! We like music, movies, gaming, board games, chess, cards, anything imaginative and we love conversation!! All meals provided. We cook vegetarian and occasionally locally sourced meat, can cater for vegan :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Welcome to beautiful West Cork! If you are an enthusiastic, nature-loving, creative mind, then this is the place for you! With a vibrant community where the mountains meet the sea, it is truly idyllic. Home to artists, musicians, poets, sculptors and self made, the landscape inspires all who visit. There is a local language school offering a range of classes and activities. There are also many beautiful walking trails along the shore side, an outdoor gym, tennis and basketball courts, sailing centre as well as the busy pubs and bubbling music scene. The bus stop is a walk away and there are two daily buses to Cork city. If you enjoy hiking, the Mizen Penninsula is truly beautiful to explore and nearby Sheeps Head has many inspiring walking trails.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a good internet connection but the wifi signal is weak (by choice for health reasons) however, we have ethernet cable connection which is quite fast. I use it for the music studio and my son uses it for online gaming platforms.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is car/van parking in front of the house. It is a quiet avenue, but quite narrow. A smaller van would be more suited to the space.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 418123935587