updated  

Come and visit beautiful Gympie, Queensland, Australia

  • Favourited 161 times
  • Last activity: 26 Feb 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi! I am a teacher and live in a beautiful part of Queensland on five acres. Only an hour from the beach, an hour from the mountains and rainforest, and an hour from the Sunshine Coast. Our two children have now both completed university and entered the workforce so I am officially an empty nester. I am a manual arts teacher at a local school, who enjoys cooking for and with people, I also look forward to learning some new dishes from people who stay with me and sharing unique Australian dishes. I am an active member in a classic car club, I have just sold my 1965 mustang, but currently have custody of my daughters 1960 Morris minor and I do attend car meets.
    I have travelled to many countries in the past and enjoy meeting people from all walks of life

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I live in a beautiful spot, you will see wallabies each morning and evening sitting on our verandah. As a teacher I like to interact with people and would love to share recipes and stories with guests.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for someone to do some weeding, some mulching, some mowing (ride-on provided) and some general maintenance around the yard. I am be very flexible around when the work was done during the week.I live a 15 minute drive away from the nearest town, and there is no public transport available so you having a vehicle would be a benefit but not essential.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a four bedroom house and visitor/s will have their own bedroom and bathroom. They would need to prepare their own breakfast and lunch each day as I will be at work (food supplied) and I would love it if they would join me for dinner each night. I miss cooking for people! There is an inground pool which you would be very welcome to use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Whilst I do enjoy entertaining, I am not a heavy drinkers or party person so my lifestyle would not suit someone who is. Absolutely no smokers thank you. I enjoy fishing and equally an evening sitting in front of the fire pit watching the flames You would be more than welcome to experience my little part of the world should you wish.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Good internet

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Large flat area on property suitable for larger vehicles

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 417335957461

Feedback (5)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)










Come and stay in a museum in Greenough, western Australia
Help on a sustainable small holding in Victoria, Australia