I am looking for a couple to garden with me in New Galloway, Dumfries, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a busy woman who needs help with gardening and growing on a 24 acre plot. Time for exploring the surrounding area with or without support is available. Keen cyclist i am looking for a student or a couple who would like to visit our beautiful area and stay in a large house. Own room and bathroom with food provided, washing facilities etc included. I am a 5 minute walk from the local village with a post office, shop and pub but in own acreage. Access to Edinburgh and Glasgow by train. I am easy going and like to travel preferring to leave house occupied. Within two miles there is an activity centre providing climbing and water sports whilst the area itself is a dark sky park.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Gardening, English, design
    Experiencing UK.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a large evolving garden that i would welcome your input in helping us design. Many mature trees and shrubs, the house and gardens are 110 years old and needing new planting. The house is delightful and needs simple maintenance such as gutter clearing, mowing as well as creating in the garden etc. I need help to supplement my efforts.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    large house, own large bedroom and bathroom with shared sitting rooms, dining room, study, laundry etc. The house is very traditional with modern touches such as dishwasher, washing machine etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am an easy going household present at home most of the time, sociable and hosting many cyclists. There is bus transport daily to surrounding towns and railway stations and the local village is a five minute walk but, when I feel comfortable there will be a car available. My expectation is that you help on projects we would like to achieve this year such as reworking some areas of the walled vegetable garden, drive to local town, help with lawned areas and newly planted orchard as well as some painting and decorating in house. In return we will keep the fridge and cellar stocked and cook with you. If you drive you can have use of a car on weekend subject to insurance.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 416958418585