Stay with us in the Finnish countryside and help our project in Ekenäs, Finland

Country

Finland

Favourited 361 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/07/2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our place is an nearly 100 years old, traditional schoolhouse out in the Finnish countryside, almost surrounded by forest. We have a nice sauna also. There is a lake a short walk from the house, which is ok for swimming.

    What we are trying to achieve here is a place where eco-living, activism, arts, politics and friends meet. We who live here are Aune - theater director and professor at theater academy, Alm - musician, log-house constructor and forestry-engineer, Varga 11 yo, Saarni 8 yo and Usva 3 yo. We are all activists of sorts.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are open-minded people, both Aune and Alm are artists, Aune working at the moment as a professor at the University of the Arts in Helsinki, Aune is also a trained homeopath, helping people with all kinds of issues with health. Alm is performance artists and a poet, and trained in Forest sciences. Alm is studying his masters in GIS half time, and half time working with things like Chaga cultivation, renovations and other fun stuff.

    We are interested what is happening in the world and activists in our own ways, striving for equality, freedom and autonomy. We like to find ways to live in balance with the nature and all its beings. These ideas color our daily lives and thus will be a part of the cultural exchange when spending time here.

  • Help

    Help

    After being off for a bit we are tuning in to work away again!

    The help mostly required at the moment is to take part in and help with the daily living with the kids: perhaps taking the kids to school in the mornings and picking them up in the afternoons. The oldest one sometimes needs to be picked up earlier than the younger ones and then you could spend some time with Varga - going for a walk, to the library (if it opens) or something. You could help with cooking, dishwashing and cleaning. When it comes to taking care of the kids, this would especially entail spending time with our youngest one, so that our older kids have some space and peace to do their own things, to read, do homework etc.

    Apart from that there can be gardening, gathering berries and mushrooms and perhaps offering a helping hand with some construction project or other things that come up.

    You don't need to be an expert to help here, some tasks require no previous knowledge at all, just a sound attitude, and some works require some skills. Being able to do tasks independently and ability to take initiatives can be useful!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Finnish: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on how many people we are here at the moment and if there are guests stopping by you will have a room of your own or a shared room. If you prefer living outdoors there is a chance to do that also, you can build a shelter or live in a tent.

    There is wi-fi in the house, that we turn off during the nights. We do not have television, nor a dish washing machine. We do have a washing machine for clothes. We eat mostly vegetarian food, but sometimes game and fish. We have a sauna and a compost toilet in the yard, and a shared bathroom in the house with a shower and a water toilet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Tammisaari, the closest town is a very nice little city with a beautiful old town and quite much life in the summer. It is about 17 km away from our place so you can go there even by bicycle.

    We are all non-smokers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 6 days a week








Host ref number: 314362686556