Help care for my son and with some housechores in Coffs Harbour, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 1 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/02/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I would love some help with getting my home in order by organising. I am trying to get as close as possible to a minimal lifestyle as possible. General lite help around the home. Playing with my son at home or outside. Joining us on outdoor adventures! We also have Netflix, Amazon Prime and Disney for your use. We will try to have a movie night once a week and trade off picking the movie! We do generally eat healthy, whole, fresh foods but we also enjoy pizza night and Taco Tuesday. Right now we are eating probably about 40% veg with an aim to cut back more on eating meat. We also live as sustainably as possible, again with aim to get as close to zero waste as possible living in a city. We are eco conscious and reduce and reuse as much as we can. Happy to teach you and share my tips not only with sustainability but also minimalism and organsing! I am learning and reaching for more everyday. My son is an autistic person with ADHD. He is brilliant and loads of fun with tons of energy! He is quite chatty and happy about 99% of the time. He loves to sing..loudly and most everything else 8 yo boys love to do. That said there will be upsets, rigidity in behavoiur at times and the occasional melt down. You can learn about parenting a child such as this and how to help with may come in handy at some point in future for you. Both of us would love to have a male that is youngish with the stamina to keep up! Female also heartily accepted! I think that is a good start about us but please do ask any questions that you may have! Thank you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am an American living in Australia and have lived here for 11 years. My son was born here. I am happy to offer insight on all things American. Between my son and I we can teach you about how things go in Australia. We love to have company in our home. We recently cooked a huge Thanksgiving dinner for our Australian friends. We can try out American foods and Australian too. I can answer questions you may have about how things work in America versus Australia socially and politically …. if you dare! haha I am also happy to learn and explore with you in this lucky country! Really just ask us anything.

  • Help

    Help

    I am a solo mum of a fantastic 8yo boy. I would love help with keeping the small garden tidy, help with organising around and inside my home, and child entertaining. Also a little bit of general help from time to time like help carry in groceries or take out the recycling, easy stuff!

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would love to learn more French. I took several years in school but have not used it and have forgotten. I am pretty good at reading it but not so conversationally. More than happy to help better your English too!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a lovely 3 bedroom 1.5 bathroom multi story townhouse located in the heart of Coffs Harbour Jetty! We are at most a 10 minute walk to the beach. You will have your own private bedroom with a comfy double bed with plenty of space to store your belongings in the closet and 2 large drawers. Your room will be at the top floor of the home. The toilet is right next door as is the shared shower and bathtub in a separate room. My son's room is also on this floor next door to yours. It is generally a very quiet neighborhood in a small complex of 10 units with mostly very friendly older folks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots to do in and around Coffs. There are numerous bike and walking trails all around. The beach can offer surfing or a swim. We also have the Coffs creek across the street that offers fishing, SUP and kayaking. The latter 2 available for rent and we have both ocean and river fishing gear for you to use. It is a outdoorsy type of holiday area, parks an BBQs are all around. Bush walk and a hike are all very close. We have the ocean to one side and the mountains to the other. There are tourist spots such as the BIg Banana which is a fun time for kids and adults! We have beautiful rivers to travel. Bellingen and Urunga are a short drive to go exploring. We have movies and a proper theater, library, 2 malls, weekly outdoor markets. Transport; there are buses that run in and around town. We have a bus stop near us. I am very happy to drop or pick up also. I also have a bike you could borrow. we as a family are trying to spend more time outdoors. I am trying to become more fit and active with my son.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I do have an excellent WiFi connection that is unlimited. Mobile reception can be spotty in some areas of the home, like on the patio for example.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 413914372727