Come and help us to build a cob house in Sevastopol, Ukraine



Favourited 78 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    Hello, guys!
    We are building a cob house in Sevastopol, Crimea
    Now the all the major work is done (at least i like to think that way) and the all the internal and external work left - i mean plastering, rendering, polishing etc.

    We have here regular toilet and shower; fast internet.

    Helpers are expected to work with me around 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week.
    I provide simple food which i eat myself - please write to me beforehand to discuss all the details on it.

    Smoking\drinking is not a problem as long as everyone is comfortable with it ;)
    I don't smoke myself; moderate (for russian) drinker :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects

  • Help


    We are building a cob house for living in.
    Actually there will be two cob buildings - first is the workshop (i make wooden toys and we want to do pottery too) and second - house itself. All this will take place at 400 sq meters plot of land in Sevastopol suburbs, close to Black sea.

    So what type of the work will be there really depends on when helper wants to come. As i said, first will be the small cob hut - so it will be trench-digging, stem wall laying, cob mixing and walling, green-roofing and cob-flooring. Rocket-stove maybe. I think if it will be possible (i'm the beginner, so i don't know for sure) as cob walls need some time for drying between courses, we probably will be able to work on main building - again, trench, foundation, walls, roof, fireplace.

    It will be very hot in summer. Even though we have trees at our plot, there will be quite a heat in the midday so i guess it will be better to wake up early (very early :) ) in the morning and work till heat comes up, then rest in shade, sleep, whatever, and then work a little more in late afternoon.

    We all will live at the plot in tents, me included. We have electricity there, we have a water tank with water; we will have a summer shower - which is a cabin with the little water tank on the top. Water will get warm by sun, we don't have water heater on the plot.
    There will be open kitchen, fridge, electric oven.
    Maybe we even will have internet there.

    So what are the benefits of being here and help us? There are several of them :)
    1. As we are total newbies we offer to learn together a lot of techniques during our building process - walling, flooring, roofing, making fireplace and maybe earth oven. If you yourself an experienced eco-builder you can have a benefits of teaching somebody and share your knowledge
    2. We will have some books in english on plot - cobbers bible by Ianto Evans "The Hand-Sculpted House", "Building with the cob" by Adam Weismann and Katy Bryce, book on Stonework and natural plaster; earth oven available for reading. So we will build everything according to them, with a bit of our own creativity of course.
    3. You will be able to have an Extreme-Quick Russian Special Language Course when i will accidentally drop something heavy on my foot. Less quick but more decent russian language course will be also provided if you want.
    4. We have 3 beaches around us, all of them require going quite a height down (and then back if you won't stay there for ever); there is a Jasper beach (google 'jasper beach sevastopol'), wild beach, nude beach.

    19/08/2013 UPDATE
    We are on 2/3 finished the walls for workshop and the foundation for house (at least its concrete part) is ready. Please, check pictures :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Persian (Farsi): Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Place for tent,
    slow internet

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are 800 steps down to that beach, keep it in mind - and the same number up when you are going back home, so, beauty doesn't come so easy :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 413299178954