Enjoy the sun and wind and great outdoors helping out on our farm located in a small town, call Curran in Ontario , Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1583

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My parents are looking for extra help at the farm, my cousin, my sister, my brothers and I are often there to help and do few things. Often friends are coming over to help... to get away from the city and to enjoy a day at the farm. My parents are very outgoing, respectful and open-minded and enjoy the company of my friends and people around the world and from other culture. The farm is located in a small town, called Curran in Ontario (French-Canadian community). This village is located between Ottawa and Montreal. The farm have few cows (Angus) a donkey, a dog, etc. We have a very large vegetable garden, many flowers, a pond and several barns. The farm and our house is only 1 km from the core of the village. Long time ago we were dairy farmers, now, it's more like a hobby farm but nonetheless we still produce hay and some grains. My parents enjoys the vegetable garden (tomatoes, carrots, beet roots, etc). We have raspberry bushes, purely for our own eating pleasure.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The benefit is simple - enjoying the sun and the wind, eating at the table with the owners, and visit me in town during weekends.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The experience would be mostly maintaining the garden, feeding the animals and other experiences depending of the interest of the volunteer. The farm has a lot to offer and my parents are welcoming the people who would love to volunteer and appreciate the country living. This is not and advertisement for a job, it's a pure free-spirit opportunity of gaining experience in a small farm in a learning environment. The vegetable garden is fully organic and required low maintenance - but the weeds come around too often. Every year we have ro repair parts of the barn or the fences around.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private guess bedroom and wifi in the family house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As part of the Couchsurfing network, I can host the volunteers at my place in downtown Ottawa, during weekend or between projects.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 413286862213