Join us in our eco-homestead in Ōamaru, the coolest, funkiest town in Aotearoa New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/09/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    SEEKING EPIC HUMANS TO COME TO OUR ECOHOMESTEAD THIS SPRING & SUMMER--SHARE SKILLS & EXPERIENCES!

    We live at the Ecohomestead-- houses that are next door to each other where we are implementing permaculture projects and trying to live more sustainably. Sophia works from home as a consultant, language teacher, garden builder and homesteader. She recently completed the Permaculture Design Course and continues implementing permaculture projects on the ecohomestead. Marky is a handy man and gardener. We have 3 family pets: Figo and Fia are sausage dogs & Giuseppe is a tabby cat. We usually share mainly vegetarian meals in the evening--if you cannot eat a vegetarian diet, we are probably not good hosts for you. We will provide breakfast & lunch also. We adore and appreciate amazing chefs! We can provide internet, accommodation & meals in exchange for 4 hours of work every day.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can share skills in gardening, permaculture knowledge, Māori language, and the history of our amazing town Ōamaru!

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for epic helpers for renovation projects around the house, dog sitting, dog walking, gardening, painting, cooking and odd jobs. We are always working on something different, so things never get boring! Building skills are a bonus but happy to share what I know if you're keen to learn.

    Creative people and artists are always welcome too-- we can find a project to suit your skill set! Daily duties include watering the garden, walking the dogs and often cooking. Everything else just varies by the day. Work is primarily building, painting, gardening, composting, weeding, harvesting vegetables, beer brewing, making pasta, cooking, and odd jobs.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Maori: Intermediate
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is in the spare room or tiny house at the eco homestead--we live in the centre of town beside the Botanic Gardens. The tiny house is well insulated and comfy. You can come and go as you please. We can provide you with a bicycle or long board on loan so you can get around town on wheels! We have animals, so if you are allergic BEWARE!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live on an eco homestead in the heart of Oamaru--the coolest, funkiest town in New Zealand! There is a blossoming community of artists, musicians, and people with projects here. We are well known for our Victorian architecture and local colonies of penguins.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have unlimited wifi at home. There is a small desk in the tiny house and plenty of privacy. You are welcome to do work in your own time.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large driveway with plenty of room for off-street parking

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a fenced yard and can host friendly dogs. We have 2 small dogs of our own.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 412681169946