Family life and help in a little castle in Pont-Saint-Esprit, France

Country

France

Favourited 359 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a big old house in south of France, sort of a little castle, in which we manage a B & B during summer.
    It is owned by the family for centuries (no ghosts Inside...! ).

    We need some help during summer, june, july and august especially, for our B & B family organisation,

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ We have had 4 years ago Inès , a young argentina girl who stayed one year with us ( with AFS organisation).

    Then with Workaway,
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ we have had Frederique, coming from Québec from July to august 2015,
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ then Kriss in September coming from the States.
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ In 2016 Cristina, coming from Italy stayed two months , and gave us a great boost and became as well a member of the family .
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ In 2017, Emilie from Denmark,
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Helen from U.K
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Rosa from Switzerland gave us great help, despite a very, very hot summer !
    *️️️️️️️️️️ Harry for around 15 days in 2018 (april)so as to give Michel a powerful help for the kitchen garden and lot of other things.
    *️️️️️️️️️️Sophie will be with us for may, then
    *️️️️️️️️️️Alanna in June
    *️️️️️️️️️️ then Sarah in July, Sophie came back in july !!
    *️️️️️️️️️️ and Steffi who joined us in August !

    We still exchange E.mail with all of us.

    * we decided to have a little rest in 2019, especially due to our two daughters who came "in the family nest" for summer holydays with a bunch of four grand childrens (..."holala !!), so no more rooms available...!

    And in 2020, here we are again, ready to welcome you !

    Marcello ( Brasil) is going to join us for a few days in april, then Elspeth ( Scotland) in june, Emily ( USA) will follow for jully and Béatrice ( Italy) is intended to clise the run in august.

    So nice !

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will live in a real family, with from time to time childrens, grandchildreens, nieces , nephews, aunts, uncles, cousins coming tovisit us,

    We are not altogether during meals, don't worry....! ( but sometimes more than 6, 8, 10....)
    Cat and dogs are friendly (hens too...) and they don't eat either with us...!

    We will provide you good and nice family coocking, in particular with vegetables coming from Michel's kitchen garden, and if you want to show us your own coocking recipes , no problems at all .

    If you want to improove, or to learn a bit of french, you just need to decide it, and to find time to work your french ( schoolish way i mean), from time to time. We will help you, step by step.

    Michel speaks english, it could be usefull too... ( and also a bit of spanish).

    Already speaking french could be decisive and useful to understand quickly what Isabelle needs to help her in the house...

  • Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers payment in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

    Host has indicated that they will pay at least the minimum hourly wage of their country for each hour worked and that accommodation will also be provided. They are asking for help with a business or business activity. Contact the host directly via the site messenger for more information and details about the wage provided. Any arrangements should be agreed in advance with your host.

  • Help

    Help

    During summer month, a maiden will be better, as it's to help my wife with all the tasks belonging to our family B & B organisation ( cleaning, tiding, making beds and bathrooms, breakfasts...). We do understand a man may perfectly perform such tasks, but, for best human relations, we do prefer maidens, that's it !!,

    We give wages ( we say "an enveloppe"), but not as much as the official french worker rate: it's not a question of amount, but as workaways do come to give an help, and to experiment other way of life, and as they receive free of charges all a family can provide, it does not justify a salary (as far, it's a point of view, our one ...!).


    A nice family atmosphere, you won't forget when time will come to come back home !

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room and private bathroom . Some of "our" workaway had to moove several times from a bedroom to another, due to the arrivals of our own childs with kids, sharing,sort of, our family life !!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are near (2.5 km) a tiny little old town (Pont-Saint-Esprit) and near the "Gorges de l'Ardèche". Also lot of nice places around to visit (Avignon, Nîmes, Orange, Vaison la romaine, le Mont Ventoux, méditerranée sea...etc).

    If you have an international driving licence, one of our family cars could be availabe ( bicycle too...!!). A county agreement gives the possibility to buy bus ticket for only 1.5 € , with which you may go to visit Avignon, Nîmes...etc, without paying too much . interesting, no ?!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    maximum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week - 4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Nous tous ( enfin, ceux que le format de la photo fait entrer dans le cadre... !!)
La belle vie d'une workaway...! ( Fred)
Green grass, green leaves.
From above...
Our lunch place during summer, with sunflowers that time...
A bit of rest ??
North facade in raising sun time
One of the peaceful place, in rising sun.
Isabelle, Cristina ( workaway 2016), Michel and Gloria, the female Labrador.
a typical family lunch (not so numerous anytime !!)
North facade.
South facade
Isabelle & Michel, the owners.









Host ref number: 411454365947