Welcome to our apple and herb garden, helping and learning with us in Wiggensbach, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 20 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Welcome in Bavaria! We are a family living in the south of germany, in a little village called Wiggensbach. We are about 1000m above sea level and have a 1ha-apple-garden where we plant rarely aplle varieties and herbs. In sumary we planted over 30 old typs of apple, many of them threatened with extinction.

    The focus is on unadulterated pure natural quality. We don't use any spraying and fertilizers. The fruits get harvested by hand and traditionally stored.

    With our work we are maintaining biodiversity and show to people like you, how good nature products can be and how healthy they are if they don't get industrial contaminated. Nature offers us a lot! If we meet nature with respect and knowledge we can force a symbiotic coexistence.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    On the practical side you can learn to plant your own food. About apples and herbs and how to use and finish them.

    You may get the possibility to leran about natural siences in theorie and practice. We have a private natural laboratory for doing studies. Bedise your work, there is the possibility to take part on diffrent research projects under the diretion of professor for food chemistry Maria Marquardt. Under scientific guidance both projects for youth research can be compiled, as well as studies in the context of university excursions or bachelor theses. Examples for studies are:

    - Determination of biodiversity
    - Studies on permaculture
    - Studies on natural mouse defense (pest control)

    In case of your interest, please contact us and we will diskuss ongoing projects and your opportunities to participate directly.

    We support Life Long Learning and look forward to meet dedicated and enthusiastic people!

  • Help

    Help

    We need help in Gardening, Building and Producing own food from that the garden gives us.

    Gardening for example:
    - Cutting the Lown and the Trees
    - Farming the Herbarge fields
    - Plucking weeds, ...

    Building:
    Currently we are building a fruit kontor - a room for processing and storing our selfproduced food. Needed help: electricity, plaster, painting, floor laying, etc.

    The work is always relatet to the natural events, for example if it is raining or if/which plants needs some care or are ready to get picked. In detail we can talk about the upcoming work via direct messages.

    Which kind of help are you able and do you want to provide?

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accommodation in a own room is for free. If there are many people staying the same time, you may need to share a room. You will always have your own bed.

    We offer you breakfast or lunch.
    We respect eating habits as long as it is acceptable for all of us; we all eat together the same.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You are in the countryside of germany near the alps. There is a lot to discover and to do for nature and sports loving people. Our village is called "Wiggensbach", the postal code is 87487.

    There is public transportation, but sometimes it is not that easy and needs some time, as we are on the countryside. We recommend a car or at leaste a good bike. The next city to go out is 9km far away. The alps are about 70km, Zugspitze with 2962m - the highest mountain of germany - about 90km far away. Discovering the mountains and the countryside can be beautiful in all seasons!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 399966143419