Join us on our remote property in Anam Cara, West Cork, Ireland

Country

Ireland

new host  

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a multigenerational and international family with an interest in organic growing and sustainable living. We have just bought our place in beautiful West Cork in the heart of farming country. There is an old farm house, 8.5 acres of land and some small outbuildings and animal sheds. We are surrounded by lovely neighbours and a wonderful close knit community here. We are trying to set ourselves up to be largely self-sufficient, but are in the very beginning stages and there is a lot to be done, and we could do with some help!

    It's quite remote here, so it would be handy if you have your own transport. However, this is not essential. We are very open to cultural exchange and would be happy to help you with your English skills. Languages spoken here are English (native), Dutch (native) and French.

    We are vegetarian, and interested in including more plant based foods in our lives, however we also eat our fair share of eggs, cheese and dairy products. We love coffee which we drink with either cows milk or oat milk so both options are available!

    We would like to eat one meal a day together, and for the other meals we will provide you with ingredients/food.

    We are open, social, creative, busy and things can be quite chaotic here as there is a lot to organize and manage. So expect more of a busy, loving, family atmosphere rather than a well oiled machine.

    One of the children in our family has special needs, so some understanding of neurodiversity and lots of patience is required (you do not need to have lots of knowledge about this, but an open heart and a willingness to learn go a long way).

    Much of our time is taken up with family life, so whilst we are very willing to socialize and get to know our visitors we do not always have very much time to relax and talk etc. So our place would definately suit someone who is social, but also enjoys having quiet times and working independently.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    For us it is lovely to have extra people around and to share experiences, culture, food, daily tasks and to get to know each other. There is a yoga teacher amongst us so that is something that could be made part of the weekly routine. We love to go to the local market each week so you would be welcome to join us there and on other social visits and walks we make in the area.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The kind of tasks that you can be involved in are: gardening, clearing areas of land/woods/garden, composting, painting walls, general maintenence, animal care (ponies/donkey/sheep/quinea pigs/birds), cooking, household help, doing crafts and activities/playing together with the children, maybe some kind of language exchange if this interests you. If you have a special interest in carpentry, permaculture or anything specific then you would be welcome to work on a specific project and your skills would be very welcome. For example we have fences and raised beds that need making, polytunnels that will soon be under construction and an entire garden under design. Anyone with outdoor education skills for children, or with an interest in music or dance would also be a great bonus for kids.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are interested in language exchange, particularly Portuguese as we have family in Brazil, but any language would be great. We would also love to welcome any deaf/hard of hearing volunteers and learn more about sign language as one of our family has a hearing impairment.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The accomodation can be with us in the main house, currently with shared bathroom. It's not a palace by any means, as we've just moved in and it needs a lot of work! But if you are used to roughing it a bit and enjoy the challenge of helping to set up a new home/small holding and can ignore the mess, then you will be quite comfortable here.

    If you feel happy with this option and it is not too cold, there is also a small cosy 'shed' in our garden (it is actually a shed this is not a euphamism) where you can sleep in peace and quiet. I will upload a photo of this to give an idea. In this case you would have access to the bathroom in the main house and to an outside toilet. And can read by candlelight until we get the electricity figured out!

    We would like to have one shared meal each day (either Lunch or Dinner depending on the day) and then for the remaining 2 meals and snacks we will provide you either with ingredients/food to meet your needs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is no public transport to speak of here. So a bike/car of your own would be very helpful. Of course we are driving about quite a bit and will be happy to give you a ride somewhere if possible. There are some beautiful local nature walks that you could do in your time off.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We are certainly open to this, but would need to set up a good and quiet working space for you. Perhaps this could be one of the projects you could help to work on at the beginning of your stay :)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large drive where you can park up, surrounded by our garden/trees. We are really hoping to find someone with their own camper/motorhome as this would be the most comfortable way to stay.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We can always consider pets, though would have to be very certain that any dogs are safe with children. As long as you dicuss it in advance then we can see whether it will be a good fit.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 399895459889