Help needed to train/exersise our competion horses in Herce, North West France



Favourited 214 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    Update ** We are currently looking for Dressage trained riders for 2020 **

    We are a very busy English family of three living in rural France. We love the outdoor life and have various chickens and 4 cats. Two of them, Newton and Lovely, are Maine Coon and we plan to start breeding soon. We have a Weimeraner called James, three ponies and three horses that need exercising more than we have time for.
    Although we have been living in France for 6 years we have only recently bought a property that we are renovating into a 12 bed equestrian property with 16 acres of pasture, 40 x 20 outdoor arena, paddocks, stables and tack room.
    No help is needed with any part of the renovation work. The interior of the house still needs a lot of work but you will have your own bedroom and use of all toilet and shower/bath facilities. Saying this we would prefer someone who enjoys to be part of the family and not shut themselves away and also join us for meals and help prepare them. Our first language is English but our daughter speaks perfect French and we are good French speakers and have good French neighbors.
    We are situated 6 km from a medium size town with all amenities like shops, supermarket, bars, restaurants, cinema, theater and parks.
    This will not suit anyone who is not totally in love with all things equine and understands the days are not always straightforward, we need someone who is able to think and act alone and does not need constant guidance and supervision. If you are tied to your phone and internet this really is not for you! If however you wish to ride some great championship ponies and horses at all levels and disciplines then this is really is for you! We compete most weekends at dressage, jumping and hunter levels all over the regions and local departments.
    Sorry if the above sounds a little blunt but a holiday with the occasional ride we are not, this hopefully saves everyone's time when asking for availability.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You would benefit by living in a beautiful rural location with horses to treat as your own and having the opportunity to learn a new language or two.

  • Help


    The ideal person we are looking for would be a horse loving person with a good background in general equine care, also a good basic riding ability is needed as you would need to exercise 2 horses (15.3H & 16.2) & two ponies (14.2) and take care of their daily needs. They all are ridden by our 11 year old daughter who is in the competition circuit doing Jumping, Dressage and Hunter, so are quiet safe.
    Our daughter attends riding lessons at local equestrian centers twice during the week, Saturdays is training at home in our sand arena and the competitions are most Sundays so you would need to go along to the competitions to help out with the usual chaos. O.K so that's the fun part !
    We own a fetish latex clothing company designing our own clothing range from workshops in London plus reselling other labels as well as shoes, boots, toys etc. This is an online shop and all items are shipped from our office in the house so we are looking for an open and mature minded person with a sense of humor that does not have a negative opinion of our business in the fetish world. We do not need any help with the business.
    We would like help with usual household chores like cooking and cleaning as part of family living. We are not looking for a housekeeper or a cook just someone with enough foresight to muck in and not add to the work. The horse care and exercising would be around 25 hours a week and include Sundays )5 days per week

    . Any spare time could be spent gardening, odd jobs and general land maintenance. With the weekends being busy you would of course have days off during the week.
    In short this is a great opportunity for a person who wants to either continue in the equine world or try it in a new country. Things like internet and TV of course are all here but again we would prefer a person who is an outdoor type rather than shutting themselves in a room with a mobile please think carefully if this will suit you.
    We would like a forward thinking person who can arrange themselves without constant reminding and fit in to our family life which despite the work load is relaxed and informal, plus someone who would be willing to stay for at least 1 month with permanent position available.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own room with either en-suite or shared family bathroom depending on availability. Saying this we would prefer someone who enjoys to be part of the family and not shut themselves away and also join us for meals. All meals are provided as part of your accommodation package but help preparing them would be appreciated.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are in Pays de la Loire but on the borders of Brittany and Normandy. We are 6 kilometers from the town of Gorron with cafes, bars, restaurants, theater, swimming pool and gym. A large park with golf, paintball, canoeing, acro-branch/ zip wire and nature reserve. L'Espace de Colmont,

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 399157759982