Gardening, maintenance and building help wanted: 1 hr south of Auckland, NZ

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 86 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    90

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My folks (60+) and myself (36) live on a 100 acre rural property one hour's drive south of Auckland city. We have a large garden as well as some cattle and native forest. I am looking for help to fix up a small wooden shed.
    There is not a lot to do out here other than to enjoy being outside and in nature - so may suit someone looking for some peace and quiet. We are 15 mins drive from a town called Pukekohe (population 30,000).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    For anyone looking to practice their English this is a great opportunity; there will be someone available to work with or talk to most of the time.
    Staying with us is a great way to have more than a "tourist" experience of New Zealand.
    We have been experimenting with building with natural materials (clay, straw, pumice) and are happy to share the knowledge we have gained; alternatively you may have more knowledge than us!

  • Help

    Help

    Someone prepared to get into semi-heavy gardening tasks and property maintenance, helping alongside me.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Self-contained conventional cottage or 'go bush' and experience our off-grid stone hut.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Where we are is not accessible by public transport. We can often provide transport to and from the nearest bus stop. We are not very far from the main North-South motorway.

    As we are rural we are not the place to stay if you like party nightlife! We are best suited to people who enjoy living in nature, have gentle personalities and can be sensitive to others' needs. We offer, as hosts, to respect your need for privacy and autonomy, to consider you as an equal member of the team, to understand that new experiences can be challenging and to do our best to help you have a rewarding, creative, meaningful and connected stay.

    There is a wild beach 30mins drive away and a $50 caving tour within an hours drive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 397653928679