Family welcomes help with the kids and around their home in Vesturbyggð, Iceland

Country

Iceland

Favourited 49 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/10/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are family of 4. Me (Esther) Jakob my husband and our two kids Emilia (8) and Jökull (4). We live in a very small town in the westfjords of Iceland called Patreksfjörður. The town has only about 700 people living in it. Patreksfjordur is part of Vesturbyggð. Vesturbyggð consists of Patreksfjörður, Tálknafjörður, Bíldudalur and Barðarströnd. Those four places have about 1200 people. people work around fish and farming. But with this isolation you are very near the nature and the mountains.
    We are looking for someone to help with the kids and around the house. Recently we decided to renovate part of our house. So if you know your way around carpentry, plumbing and etc you'll fit right in. You are very close to the nature, there are high mountains all around here, so if you like hiking and being in nature this place is right for you. We also have a german shephard dog and a cat that can keep company during the day. I am working as an electrician from 8 to 16 and Jakob is working as an marine engineer in a hydro powerplant nearby. the kids are in school during the day.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We like spending time outside. The nature were we live is pretty awesome and beautiful nature to hike in. We like to get to know new food and cooking experiment and language. If that person wants to learn icelandic or get there english better.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help with the kids and around the house. Help keeping the house clean. Renovating the house. Having awesome time :)

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Icelandic: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have big house 270m2 so there is plenty of space for privacy. The house is on two floors and there is a private room downstairs and toilet on that floor. But bath and shower upstairs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are some pretty awesome places here in the westfjörds and in Iceland.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 392873997498