Help on my lifestyle farm in a beautiful location, between Canberra and the South Coast of NSW, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 61 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/06/2020

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    MY farm is in a beautiful location, between Canberra and the South Coast of NSW, Australia. It is at the top of the range and has spectacular scenery and beautiful gardens. The property is home to 18 horses. It’s a nice mild climate and surrounded by national parks.
    The house is surrounded by 2 acres of garden, in need of some time and attention. I work full time, both from home and in Canberra and sometimes travel for work. I have four adult kids who have all left home, a grandson, and another two grandchildren on the way. I love horses and agist very aged horses on my property. I'm a good cook and very active around the property. I'm generous in my approach to sharing my property and hosting others. I love where I live and enjoy showing others my region. I don't smoke but don't mind others smoking outside. I'm good humoured and I have a strong work ethic and like that in others. The farm is 130 acres of mainly pasture with some natural forest. There is an abundance of native wildlife about. The climate here is nice. It is always cooler than most areas around here in the summer, and always warmer in the winter. The farm is well equipped with ride on mowers and powered garden equipment and an ATV (buggy with roll cage and seat belts)‚ for getting around the farm. My horses are all kind, good tempered human friendly. I currently have a broken wrist so hoping this is enough description, as typing is currently a bit of a challenge.

    I would be happy to host a couple or a small family, or singles.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers could learn about the Australian bush, not too far from a major city. There is an opportubity to learn about the care of horses, and to develop some gardening skills in a lovely 2 acre garden. The local community is very welcoming to tourists and has a great sense of community. Some of the best beaches on the south coast are just over an hour away. The farm is surrounded by national parks and has much Australian wildlife living freely in the paddocks.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for singles or a couple that could help with some gardening for a few weeks, and feeding animals when I need to travel. I have several small building jobs and rural fencing that I would happily pay a skilled trade to complete as an additional way to earn some money while here.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a choice of two bedrooms and bathroom. The house is in two parts and only the kitchen and laundry are shared day to day. The room is furnished with a king size bed. Basic food is supplied and meals included.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The house is non smoking, but I don’t mind someone sleeping outside. I have two dogs and three cats so liking animals would be a must. My horses are predominantly old horses, but there are some riding horses for experienced rider. There are several water holes and swimming spots near by, and the local village has a good range of shops.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day weekdays. Most weekends free





Host ref number: 387688956726