Help out in Transylvania - buffalo farm, permaculture, natural buildings, Romania

Country

Romania

Favourited 358 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2021

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My main objective is to develop commercially viable, non-industrial food production systems. I am also interested in facilitating the re-introduction of heritage plant varieties (edible perennials), and initiating a study on the health benefits of traditional diets (raw milk, pickled vegetables, etc)

    The farm has 150 water buffalo that are used for fresh milk, butter and fresh cheese.

    We have a 2.5 hectare food forest in progress and raised bed gardens for the production of vegetables and herbs, an area which we will be expanding in 2014.

    We keep 2 horses that are used for riding and I am interested in developing this further, possibly as a future eco-tourism venture.

    The rooms are comfortable (double bunk beds) with a shared spacious kitchen and bathroom. Volunteers have the benefits of fresh buffalo milk, butter and cheese, and organic vegetables from the garden.

    We are NOT a place for "lounge lizards", but our guidelines are few and simple. You WILL be expected to put in 4-5 hours' help each day with at least one day off per week, but in exchange we provide excellent food and comfortable accommodation for our helpers. Volunteers with practical skills, such as carpentry, construction, veg growing or cooking, are particularly welcome! Those motivated to contribute something tangible to the farm will do well here.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The farm is situated on a 200 hectare property in a beautiful valley. An oak forest borders the top pastures and is home to the local wildlife (brown bear, fox, wild boar, wolves and deer).

  • Help

    Help

    1. Gardening experience would be welcome as I would like to expand the annual vegetable beds next year. Also, taking care of the plants within the food forest- watering, mulching, pruning- would be useful.
    2. Horse riding/stable experience is necessary for those wishing to work with the horses. We would like to put some order into the stables and also regularly exercise the horses....maybe go out riding in the surrounding area.
    3. Anyone with cheese making experience would be a great advantage to develop our products and assist with general health and safety procedures for a small production unit.
    4. Carpenters/builders are ALWAYS wanted- we have a variety of projects underway and in the planning stages.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Hungarian: Fluent
    Romanian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a dormitory building with 4 comfortable bedrooms, a large shared kitchen/living area and a shared bathroom. 3 of the bedrooms have a double bed and a single, plus attached bathroom. There is one bedroom with a double bed and a bunk bed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The nearest train station, Rupea Gara. is 15km from the farm and visitors can be picked up from there.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 to 5 hours, 5 days











Host ref number: 387522558477