A cave house in the middle of nowhere, where we need help with just about everything; except kids, we don't have kids - Encebras, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 149 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/06/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a part cave house that is set in the most beautiful countryside around 40 mins from Alicante airport. Nestled into the mountains and just 10 minutes away from the local town of Pinoso we have a beautiful view of a sleepy little village and quiet locality. Our village (Encebras) is free from light pollution and a perfect place to enjoy the night skies. If you know how to use a telescope then feel welcome to show us as we can't work ours ;) There is very little to do if you do not have a car and do not like walking, however we can offer a bicycle or sometimes a lift into town if you would like to explore a little. We are both teachers and work very hard, as a result we do not have time to keep up with the jobs around the house.

    We have wide and varied interests from playing guitar and cooking to crystals and Reiki. I guess we're interested in hosting people we find interesting. We don't host on a regular basis, just when the world feels like it is a little too much to cope with. When we do host, we open up our home and welcome you as one of the family. This summer we would love to spend some time with fluent / native Spanish speakers who are happy to do general housework and exchange Spanish / English.

    Additionally, if you cook, really cook :) If you have a talent for Indian, Thai, Chinese or any other type of cooking then drop us a line. We have no local takeaways or restaurants and so we're always looking to improve our culinary skills. There is also an ongoing need for people who are ok with weeding, general garden projects and lugging things about, at the moment that's stones :) We promise to consider each mail we receive. We have 4 cats that live with us so you need to be an animal lover. We accommodate in a simple, but comfortable cave room with shared bathroom. Unfortunately we cannot accommodate pets, smokers or children.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Practise English skills with two qualified teachers.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people to come and stay for short periods of a few days to a week (initially) to help improve our Spanish or lend a hand with housework, gardening or one of the other many jobs that always seems to need doing.
    As we both teach English, there is very little time to practise Spanish. We have to speak in English all day Mon to Friday and we live in an area where the neighbours speak Valenciano... ideally we would love to spend some time with someone who can give us practise and support to develop this.

    There is always an area of land that needs weeding, not the greatest job on Earth but necessary. General maintenance and cleaning of the property both inside and out or people who are just looking to do some cooking and generally keep the kitchen area clean, tidy and with a supply of good home cooked food. We love hosting people who have similar interests as us or we just find interesting :) We are currently re-engaging with crystals and esoteric interests.

    We use the Workaway scheme as a means to meeting people we connect with. We don't host everyone, we have to feel it will be an exchange of energy that will work for all concerned. We are very easy going and not slave drivers, we work hard but we relax too and need to feel that you can help get stuck in with us, or be fine doing something if you are left to your own devices.

    If you would like to spend a few days or a week in a beautiful area of the country and can offer an exchange of Spanish for English or another skill we may be looking for, please get in touch.

    Hablamos un poco de espanol pero queremos que podemos practicar en una forma relajada con los nativos espanoles.
    Si quieres practicar un poco de ingles te ofrecemos un intercambio de este. Tambien, si puedes ayudar con el trabajo domestico, cocinar o hacer jardinería, escríbenos!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some basic Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer simple accommodation in cave rooms with shared bathroom. Free Wifi and use of our family kitchen and pool. We all help with preparing and clearing away the evening meal and try to eat outdoors whenever possible. We're relaxed and friendly and always do our best to help people feel welcome and at home :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 40 mins from Alicante airport, and perfetly situated for seeing the rest of Spain, motorways are 15 minutes away that will take you to Granada, Valencia and the whole of Spain. There is a train station within 40 mins that allows access to the high speed train service. We offer a taste of life in rural Spain, away from deadlines and pressure.

    We have 4 cats so if you cannot live with them we are not the hosts for you. Our location is rural, there is little to do without a car. We would suit someone who wants to get away from it all and maybe spend time walking, cycling, discovering the local wines and food and reading a book around the pool. The hamlet in which we live is populated by people from Belgium, the UK, Germany and other international areas, there are Spanish here but there are a mix of other nationalities therefore English is the common tongue. There is a traditional little Spanish bar a 5 minute walk away. It may be possible to arrange economical car hire on a day by day basis if you are over 26 and have your license with you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    2-3 hours a day 5 days a week





Host ref number: 385598894639