Help take care of house tasks and look after my dog in a large house in Tuscany, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 55 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Note: I will edit my profile soon, specially type of help needed, as before I start renovating, upcycling furniture etc for a couple of months Im in need of more house-related tasks like cooking, taking care of my dog, etc while I concentrate on work and repairing things (which are mainly one-man jobs).

    I am a 32 year old engineer from Buenos Aires. I have decided to move to Italy and buy a house in Tuscany. It is quite old (it was the first ever house in this town) and quite large, past owners left a lot of things like furniture which are great for upcycling/renovating. There's loads of rooms for painting (maybe even doing murals), fixing stuff, making it nicer, more comfy, etc. Also, there is a 4000sqm garden/park where I would like to do some sort of agriculture project (organic vegetable garden and maybe even grow something to sell). There's currently some olive, caqui, and fig trees. I also planted around 20 fruit trees recently). The house has three levels plus two anexes/sheds. It is in the province of Florence (around 16km from the city).

    More about me: I'm into philosophy, live music, outdoors, anthropology and pets.
    What to do: In town: bars, hiking (there's hills, forests and even a lake within reach). Around town: Chianti area wine tasting, horseback riding. In Florence (a bus away): Renaissance art galleries (Da Vinci statues and paintings for example), Dante's statue, Santa Croce church/square, Piazza Michelangelo view of Florence, Duomo, courses, tuscan food (bistecca Fiorentina)...

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn about upcycling, Italian culture, Florence is a bus away, and there's also forests and hills around. I can also teach Spanish and Italian basics, or even science if you're interested. I was born in Argentina so you can also learn about Argentine culture.

  • Help

    Help

    Any house and farming related skills are welcome. Also art, I have plenty of room for murals for example . I also have a dog (puppy checoslovachian wolfdog) who would enjoy walks if you're an animal lover. If you have another skill you are willing to teach which is not necessarily related, I'm open to suggestions.

    So, some ideas of work that can be done (or that im already doing): sanding and painting furniture, painting walls, organizing sheds (theres a lot of random objects left by last owners, some of which could be useful), covering floors with wood (currently stone), creating organic vegetable garden, taking care of trees, helping with my puppy, maybe build pen for a small animal like rabbits or chickens, plant saffron, collect olives, making marmalades from fruits, cooking, build fence around park, create a nice fireplace outside, renovate shed/repurpose it as studio, create art workplace, fixing wooden furniture (carpentry), create compost, recycling, upcycling, etc!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room with either private bathroom or shared depending on number of work-awayers. One of the rooms has a very nice balcony with a view. Linen and towels provided.

    Lunch and Dinner provided. Breakfast basics available (Coffee, tea, sugar/honey and a portion of fruit).
    Meals consist primarily of rice, eggs, cooked vegetables, preserves, some raw vegetables, homemade mayonaise/sauces/dips, some meats (chiken and veal) with condiments etc, and fruits. There's no bread/pasta etc, as I don't eat gluten nor other grains except rice. Its stongly encouraged that you eat the same meal plan as I do as to avoid excesive use of kitchen. If you feel something is lacking and can be bought directly from stores/supermarket then its ok so long as it doesnt require cooking/heating (I dont have microwave), except for toasts as I have a toaster. Things like bread/croissants are OK since I'm not allergic, I just don't include them in my diet.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's hiking trails around, old castle, hills, you can catch the bus to explore the amazing city of Florence or just relax and try some of the greatest wines in the world.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Please note that you might not be in this room , it will depend on some factors (for example I rent rooms through Airbnb). Also they might not be in perfect conditions, this one was taken with all the towels/pillows etc for website presentation). Regardless of the room, you will have your own bathroom.
This is the dinning room. Again, it might not be in this same condition, specially now that I'm doing a lot of moving furniture/stuff around, etc. Also I think the photo has some kind of filter, walls arent so white perfect, sorry!
This is the towns main street where the house is at.
This is a view from the park
Host ref number: 385415643995