Help with cultural events, woodland and off-grid tasks in Sao Luis, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 19 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on 20 hectares of beautiful land in Alentejo, south west Portugal. We are 20 minutes drive from the ocean, with rugged cliffs and pretty sandy beaches. Our land consists of managed woodland, fields of grain, and wild areas. The nearest village is 4 km (cafes, shops, post office, bank). The locality is a vibrant mix of locals and foreigners. There are frequent markets and social-activities. This area contains a lot of 'alternative' projects involving regeneration, cultural gatherings, and models of new economics. We recommend that guests have access to their own transport.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have travelled widely, and lived in various countries, so we know how important it is to feel welcomed and included. We live rich lives, pushing the boundaries of what is possible. We love to share our experience with people, and to learn from everyone. Portugal is a very friendly and tolerant place. There are opportunities for our guests to get to know the country and its people, and to meet people from many nationalities who have settled locally.

  • Help

    Help

    We are producing cultural/social events (concerts, parties, workshops, masterclasses). We welcome people who enjoy creating beautiful spaces, and people who have experience in performing arts (music, dance, theatre, circus).
    We also need help managing the woodland. Experience using chainsaws would be useful. We need to: limit the growth of invasive species of trees, especially Acacia; clear timber debris after logging; collect and store firewood.
    We are also creating an off-grid home on one of the hills in our land. For this we need help building an outdoor kitchen and bathroom.
    There is also some light decorating needed in the existing buildings (painting and lime-wash).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Galician: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Swedish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two private rooms available for guests. One with two single beds, and one with a double bed. There is a large shared kitchen, and a large patio dining area/lounge. We provide all food. As we are busy with our work, guests need to cook for themselves. When our schedule allows, we would love to have shared meals together. Campervans and caravans are also welcome. The property now has free wifi!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is plenty to explore locally. It would be best if guests have their own transport, as we are in a rural situation. Lisbon is two hours away. Algarve 90 minutes. Guests are free to roam our land (20 hectares). There are great views. And woodlands to explore at will. Wildlife is diverse and plentiful.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We both work online.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of space, and a choice of where to pitch.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have chickens. Your pet must be able to resist eating them!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 383929614521