Help urgently needed now in the Gardens lovely workawayers !!! 75 acres near Machynlleth, Wales


United Kingdom

Favourited 134 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    55.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 10 days

  • Badges

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Stunning 75 acre permaculture site in Wales with Beavers (!!) and bees. 2.5 acre Forest garden and have reforested upland pasture with 33,000 native broadleaf trees so far :) (many edible species) We supply a local CoOperative box scheme weekly with around 150 portions of veg and fruit all year round if possible. We host 3 self-contained Cottages through an online rental website and are developing our upland growing areas with a 'field scale' crop and the 'glamping' with Gypsy caravans and cabins. Some saplings are 9 years old and forest is really coming along now! Help needed with gardens, harvesting, cleaning Cottages, looking after the birds and animals, being lovely to visitors and pretty much everything in between ;) Carpenters, Sparkies, Straw bale enthusiasts, green fingered sorts, folk with brilliant ideas and good hearts. WWOOF hosts from waay back. Please note: from December until March the gardens and bees are sleeping..... and we need help from rugged sorts with building, fencing, digging and tree planting skills :) Thank you! xxx

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is extraordinarily beautiful here!!! We run a very popular online rental business, and using the income we generate, are creating an edible forest, supplying chemical-free local veg and teaching groups, families (and whoever will listen! ;) about other models of producing food and land husbandry. In particular, we are passionate about Agroforestry systems and food production to stimulate the local economy, community participation and address rural poverty. You would have an opportunity to immerse yourself in seeing a (more or less!) successful alternative approach to farming and food ..... regenerating land and biodiversity in the process! We do some work with local Universities on the impact of beavers in ecosystems and are involved in new initiatives to create local food hubs, internships for folk wanting to learn about food growing, and are looking into perennial crops for stable future upland farming as we expand the food production here. I will do my best to share information with volunteers, but please bear in mind that there is much to learn (I am still learning every day and am nearly 50!) and am pretty busy holding it all together. Hopefully we can all have a giggle at the same time as getting stuff done :) There are often evenings around a fire and BBQ's to relax and chat.... and spontaneous singing and guitar playing!... easy-going and positive folk are very welcome - no stress please xxx we need your help and are very open to creative ideas x

  • Help


    The daily running of our Conservation site is varied and never dull! We have need for most skills - builders and trades folk in Winter with some Summer building projects too .... and in Summer, experience working with plants - weeding, harvesting, sowing seed, planting and grounds maintenance is especially needed :) Folk who are relaxed and easy going with our guests is always welcome. Good cleaners (who actually enjoy it!) are like gold dust x Also, our building projects would benefit from anyone skilled with experience and imagination! Working hours are flexible, but we do expect around 30 hours work per week in exchange for food and board.
    Please note that we do not accept travellers with children or pets, but would be happy to welcome couples or good friends sharing a room.
    We are inundated with offers of help in July and August (as everyone wants a lovely summer break!) but need most of our help from February to June getting the gardens planted up for the season. Summer work will be mainly strimming, weeding, and looking after the veggie gardens with some cleaning too.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Our fully equipped Volunteer house is up and running! Cosy and with all mod cons - Winter volunteers may have their own room, but may be shared in Summer. There are also options to camp and share the bathroom and kitchen in the volunteer house - there is a composting toilet in the Forest Garden where you would be camping and a plunge pool and small waterfall for al-fresco dips if you would rather not shower in a bathroom!
    We now have a great carpenter who is helping us sort out 2 more rooms in the 16th century part of the main house so that more folk can live long term on site. There is good WiFi in the Breakfast Room - please bring your own laptop. Shared vegetarian food - but you would decide the shopping list within a reasonable budget! Vegan diets may be a bit of a stretch.... (as we cook communally and use eggs and dairy) unless you are prepared to be flexible. Mostly self catering (work it out together please) with random meals for the whole site (depending upon how droopy or excited I am!) I do eat some meat and fish in the family house, but please no meat in the volunteer kitchen :) (or bring secret salami if you need a fix ;) Please be very honest when making contact if you have any specific dietary needs or restrictions as it will impact the group.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are pretty remote here - about an hours walk to the nearest 'main' road, so this place would suit folk with a genuine passion for nature and outdoor life. Free time could be joyfully spent walking, climbing, wild swimming, practicing archery, yoga or Tai Chi.... also renowned for Mountain Biking trails here! Machynlleth is a cultural hub (the Historic Capital of Wales) and is bursting at the seams with Arts, Comedy, Music and Community events. Local shops and pubs are pretty far - so come with a vehicle if that is what you are looking for. Dyfi Osprey Project, National library of Wales, Cinemas and amazing Beaches less than 30 mins away by car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 377525317926