Join us on our heavenly farm in Sao Marcos de Serra, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Favourited 502 times
  • Last activity: 24 Nov 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Hello :) We are Edd (46), Anika (42) and our little Grace (3), living on our beautiful farm 6km outside of Sao Marcos de Serra. An hour away from Faro, 45km north of the beautiful beaches of the south coast, into the mountains. We have 4,3 hectares of beautiful nature, peace and tranquility and are looking for volunteers to come and help us to create and maintain this wonderland. The farm offers an open, friendly and caring enviroment 🙏 We look forward to meeting you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer a relaxed peaceful environment surrounded by Nature. We speak English, German (Anika) and a bit of Portuguese and French.
    We are both well travelled and are happy to share our wealth of life knowledge. Edd is an Actor and a qualified Drama & English teacher, musician and artist, he loves making and fixing things ......
    Anika is a social worker, knows about childcare, herbs, massage, reiki, gardening, Portuguese flowers, animals and wildlife.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We always need help with our beautiful land : strimming, raking, pruning, weeding and general land maintenance.
    There is always lots to do and lots of little chores to be done to help us in the daily running of the farm, like animalcare🙂
    we are also rebuilding a little ruin on our land. We would love to welcome motivated people to help with it. We want to share our building knowledge with you.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    We have a separate room of the house with it's own entrance and a little outdoor terraced to sit, relax or work. There is a double bed ,table, storage :)
    Also we have a lovely cozy circus wagon with a 1,40 matrass and amazing views.
    We have a compost loo and a nice outside shower with hot water.

    We will provide the ingredients for meals. We share cooking sometimes and most evenings eat together

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There is lots of walking here with beautiful mountain lakes near by and exquisite nature at your doorstep. Amazing photography wildlife and bird watching.
    We have bicycles for you to use
    and we regularly travel by car into the village which is 6km from the farm.
    We are an hour away from the spa town of Monchique and the old castle town of Silves.
    The glorious beaches of the Algarve are 35 mins south: perfect for swimming, surfing or sunbathing !

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have lots of beautiful spots to park up :) and often host those travelling in vans and campers 🚐🚌

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have Three dogs and 2 cats :) chickens and 3 goats. if your animal is friendly to children and gets along with other animals, you are welcome to bring your friend.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 376395512334

Feedback (14)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)

Help with general maintenance and discover the Eastern Algarve, Portugal
Help us around our farm and garden to experience the Algarvian way of life in Silves, Portugal