Help with landscaping projects around the property in British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 43 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Commercial seaplane pilot, builder, snowboarder, surfer, reader and mountain enthusiast. Four years ago I embarked on a journey to build a timber frame house with my own two hands in Ucluelet. After countless hours of work and with the help of dozens of friends the project is nearly complete! At this point the buildings are finished but there is lots of landscaping work still to be done. At some point in the summer I will also be undertaking a smaller timber framing project to create an awning for the back deck of the house.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Guests here will have an opportunity to stay on a large, private property right beside the beach in one of the most beautiful towns in North America. All stores and restaurants are within a quick five minute walk. I am extremely active outdoors and after having lived in the area for seven years I am happy to share my local knowledge and discoveries of the best local adventures. I am also generally eager to pass along some of my extensive wood working experience :) If you are very lucky then I may even have the chance to take you up for a flight to see this extraordinary landscape from the air (no guarantees on that one though)

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for help with landscaping projects around the property. The work is fairly casual but involves a fair bit of shovelling, planting and moving rocks to build terraces. I may also ask for help with some woodworking / timber framing if the guest has the skills required.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, little bit French little bit Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a separate workshop from the house that has a storage loft with a full size futon in it. You will have your own private place to sleep and access to the main house for eating, bathing, and general hanging out :) Some days I will be able to cook, but given my work schedule this will not always be possible. You will however always have access to a kitchen and a fridge full of healthy, mostly vegetarian, food!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you love the outdoors then this is a must visit town in Canada. Mountains on one side and the open ocean on the other, there is a lifetime of exploring right on our doorstep :) The town is pretty happening in the summer with lots of restaurants, stores and beaches all within easy walking distance. It is easy to hitchhike and catch a ride out to Tofino and the Pacific Rim National Park. I live quietly here with one roommate and expect guests welcomed into my home to be neat and respectful. We don’t party much but are always keen on hosting big dinners with friends or playing music by the fire.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 367531644629