Swiss-Canadian family looking for house/kids help near Lausanne, Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

updated  

Favourited 54 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    218

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a friendly swiss-canadian family looking for nice people (couple or single) to help us with the kids and house when we work : 3 days per week

    There are also landscaping and renovation projects in our house if you are handy !

    Over the years we have hosted a number of nannies, au pairs from all over the world - and now are keen on hosting people to share life experiences.

    We speak French as a family, but I have always spoken English to the kids so they are (almost) fluent and we are keen for them to continue speaking as much as possible.

    Starting in September 2019 - our basement bedroom is available.

    We are booked until September 21st

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a family happy to share the traditions of our countries . You will discover our area from the "inside" and "out" … like you would never if you stayed in a hotel.

    Sharing our energy and life experiences - bringing an open mind!

  • Help

    Help

    We, Reto and Audrey, are a Swiss-Canadian family living in a small rural village only 10 minutes from Lausanne.

    We both work (Audrey 3 days per week), and are looking for workaways to SPEND TIME WITH THE KIDS:
    Eliott, 12 and Noemie 10 are coming home for lunch - so that would mean preparing lunch and being there after school, to help with homework and play games, ie. biking, etc. . You could also prepare supper if you like cooking and if you're eating with us !

    HOMEWORK: our son has dyslexia and requires support in school - any help with French, Maths, German would be greatly appreciated.

    We would expect help with HOUSEHOLD CHORES, meaning cleaning the house: bathrooms, kitchen, hoover.

    Renovating - if you're a professional - would mean maybe some painting, could go as far as insulating …

    We have a big yard and a veggie garden - you can help with planting and landscaping if you're into that.

    We have 2 cats and a guinea pig :)

    Reto works for a danish company in the field of architecture - house development - he is a very creative person - has a very big working lab in the basement. He plays golf once in a while. works from home but often on the road.

    Audrey works for a sports association - likes to do nordic walking and would love to do some yoga if she would find the time :)

    We both like to spend time at home - sometimes working on our house, renovating it, and seeing people- entertaining friends, and also going on hikes and skiing in the winter.

    Our language is French, but Audrey speaks English with the kids, and we would love to speak more English .... Reto also speaks German.

    ENGLISH : we would like our kids to beneficiate from english speaking work aways to practice the language !

    We are used to having cultural exchanges hosting couples and many au pairs from all over Europe. We have a piano, drums and lots of other music instruments. lots of games, and lots of outside stuff, such as hammocs, slackline, and bikes, scooters and boards.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a private room in the basement which includes:
    - private bathroom with shower
    - double-bed 140x200
    - desk
    - dresser
    - Free Internet access.

    Transport is the local bus and train - we are 10 minutes from the train station - about 40 minutes max from downtown Lausanne by bus/train - There are no buses on Sunday - you would rely on us to bring you to the closest station
    A return ticket to Lausanne will cost you between 15 and 20 francs

    The workawayers can have 3 meals per day if they are shared with family and snacks, but when they go on small trips during the free time they will organise their own food

    IMPORTANT : You need to be independant: on the days you are free, we expect you to go out and discover - take the bus /train and visit the area. we will be flexible if we need to pick you up from the train station as the buses run until 19h at night.

    You can share meals with our family. We love good food (and wine!), we try to eat mostly local, home cooked (I.e bread) and will share our recipes. don't be shy to bring your own recipes and cook for us !

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a small rural village but only 10 minutes drive (or 30 min bus/train) from Lausanne or the Lake, and the mountains. Lots of hikes and places to visit. You can go for a run or bike ride just outside our house and enjoy a beautiful view.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3 days per week : 11am to 6pm

Host ref number: 367416746949