Countryside living, harvesting and gardening in Benicarlo, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 16 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Susan & Andi and live in Spain as well as in Germany.
    Since each of us has a company in Germany, we are in Germany irregularly, sometimes for a short time, sometimes for longer.
    In Spain we live on a Finca Rustica near Benicarlo (Castellon). The finca is about 4 hectares.
    There is a large main house with various guest rooms, a flat and our flat, and there is also a flat in a former horse stable.
    The rooms and the flat are available for our family and friends all year round.
    The finca is located about 11km from the beaches of Benicarlo, Peniscola, on the edge of a nature reserve.
    We are not connected to public utilities, electricity and hot water is produced by solar energy.
    An internet access radio link with 20Mbps down/upload is also available.
    A gas tank and generator serve as backup for electricity and heating.
    The house has a pool and garden. Access is via a gravel road.
    There is excellent mountain biking or hiking directly from the finca.

    We are looking for uncomplicated, cheerful, communicative people who go through life openly and without prejudice.
    For whom sustainability is not a foreign word and
    have joy in life.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are culturally interested, have a large international circle of friends from the culture and event sector.

  • Help

    Help

    From October to December, help with olive- (60 trees) and carob harvesting (30 trees), which we always do with friends and local helpers.
    Further help with gardening (own vegetable garden).
    Just being here when we are in Germany and keep the place running ;-)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Always willing to improve my Spanish and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The "stable flat" of approx. 30 sqm is also suitable for a couple, it has a kitchen-living room, bathroom and bedroom, terrace and is situated below the main house.
    We find this ideal, as it guarantees your privacy if necessary. Here you can also cook according to your wishes. We are happy to help you with the shopping in the beginning, which we then pay for you.
    In the evenings, of course, we sit together at the pool bar, barbecue and chat.
    As we live very secluded, it is good if you have a car or at least a driving licence.
    By bike you can reach the next village in 10 minutes, where you can find everything for your daily needs.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Costa Azahar is rather a white spot on the international tourism map, but I don't think that is a disadvantage. There are excellent restaurants at very moderate prices.
    As it is more of a Spanish holiday region, little English is spoken.
    Valencia is about 1 hour away by car, Barcelona about 2 hours.
    The train station of Benicarlo is about 8 kilometres away, from where you can quickly get to Valencia or Barcelona several times a day.
    About 50 kilometres away is the Ebro Delta, an international hot spot for kiters, surfers and ornithologists.
    Nearby there are natural beaches, many nature reserves and well-known free climbing routes within 10 kilometres.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have unlimited wireless access, with down 25Mbps upload 10 Mbps. It's not that much but it's enough to work in the cloud or make zoom calls.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A camper or motorhome can be parked directly at the accommodation.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximal 4-5 Stunden am Tag, 5 Tage die Woche


Host ref number: 366792453936