Learn about natural farming in our enchanted garden and explore Attica, Greece

Country

Greece

new host  

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family project, starting to change our approach to gardening and cultivating to the method of Natural Farming as taught by Masanobu Fukuoka and Panagiotis Manikis.

    "Natural farming is a spiritual path which connects science, religion and philosophy into a single concept, as indivisible as it used to be in the past. Natural farming aspires to unite God, Man and Nature." - Panagiotis Manikis

    There is an established citrus fruit orchard, olive trees and many young fruit trees planted this year. In addition we grow seasonal vegetables. Our aim is to improve the soil on our plot using natural methods including green ground cover, soil improving crops and trees.
    Our plot is 8000sqm with a wide variety of plants, trees, flowers and herbs.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a Scottish / Greek family. So there is the chance to experience a mix of two cultures.
    We are a family of three, plus a poodle.
    We each have both common and different interests and skills.
    What you could learn from us includes:

    - A natural approach to gardening and
    farming

    -Basic introduction to recognizing and learning about a wide variety of plants, trees, herbs, crops and flowers.

    - Basic woodwork and carpenter skills

    - Baking bread

    - Greek cooking

    - Scottish cooking

    - Juicing

    - Yoga

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Help required with the garden depends on the season.
    In the autumn months there is more planting.
    During the winter there is more garden maintenance work.
    In summer there is more watering.
    Throughout the year there is planting of seasonal crops as well as harvesting of the seasonal crops and using surplus crops to make eg. jams etc.
    Help with housework.
    Help creating, cooking family meals once in a while.
    Diy projects such as painting indoor walls, building garden furniture, and other creative projects.
    Generally help depends on the requirements of the garden and the current diy projects we have. Details can be provided about what is going on currently or in the near future.

  • Languages spoken

    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Autonomous wooden garden cottage. About 20 sqm.
    Including a bedroom together with a small kitchenette and separate bathroom with shower.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We lead a quiet life.
    We go to sleep early (by 10pm) and wake up early.
    We stay on the land and don't have much contact with the outer world.
    Our day consists of simple and satisfying activities like gardening, cooking, cleaning, exercise, meditation, reading and any current diy projects.
    We would like someone who is interested in following a lifestyle like this while they are staying with us.
    Since we have decided to stay on the land and have little interaction with the outside world, it will be expected that during your stay here you will be willing to do the same. You are welcome to join us when we rarely go out for food shopping to the bio store and a local farm, or go to the sea to swim.
    On your time off you are welcome to swim in the outdoor pool and use the outdoor gym
    (some basic freeweights and a rack).
    We also offer a visit to the Temple of Poseidon in Sounion. Which I personally feel is one of the most beautiful temples and locations.
    We would like you to be fully vaccinated.
    Additionally this is a non smoking and no alcohol premises.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 365841633756