Biodiversity eco project in El Cotillo, Fuerteventura, Canary Islands, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 87 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Workaway note: Please contact this host in French or Spanish

    Eco experience on a sunny island in a quiet location

    We manage two large wooded properties with an ongoing European biodiversity project with the aim of protecting steppe birds (bustard).
    The place is in a protected bird area in the middle of the desert, 4 kilometers from the village, with views of the mountains and the sea.

    We need help with gardening: cutting palm trees and pruning other shrubs, watering, planting, ...
    You may also have to make stone walls or DIY or small constructions.
    You can also help us with the house, the kitchen and feed the animals. We have a chicken coop, an enclosure with two donkeys and a small vegetable garden and an orchard.
    The idea is to work together in the morning.

    The sun provides us with electricity and we purify the water to irrigate the trees.

    If you like surfing or traveling around the island you will need your own car, a bicycle. We are 4 kilometers from the village.

    We need someone who speaks French or Spanish to communicate easily. Thank you :)

    -----------------------------------------------------

    Expérience écologique sur une île ensoleillée dans un endroit silencieux

    Nous avons la gestion de deux grandes propriétés boisées avec un projet européen de biodiversité en cours dans le but de protéger les oiseaux des steppes (outarde).
    L'endroit est dans une zone protégée d'oiseaux au milieu du désert, à 4 kilomètres du village, avec vue sur les montagnes et la mer.

    Nous avons besoin d'aide pour le jardinage: coupe de palmiers et élagage d'autres arbustes, arrosage, plantation, ...
    On peut aussi avoir à faire des murs en pierre ou du bricolage ou de petites constructions.
    Vous pouvez également nous aider avec la maison, la cuisine et nourrir les animaux. Nous avons un poulailler, un enclos avec deux ânes et un petit potager et un verger.
    L´idée est de travailler ensemble le matin.

    Le soleil nous fournit de l'électricité et nous purifions l'eau pour l'irrigation des arbres.

    Si vous aimez le surf ou voyager autour de l'île, vous aurez besoin de votre propre voiture, d´un vélo. Nous sommes à 4 kilomètres du village.

    Nous avons besoin de quelqu'un qui parle français ou espagnol pour communiquer facilement. Merci :)

    -----------------------------------------------------

    Experiencia ecológica en una isla soleada en un lugar tranquilo

    Gestionamos dos grandes propiedades arboladas con un proyecto europeo de biodiversidad en curso con el objetivo de proteger las aves esteparias (avutarda).
    El lugar está en una zona protegida de aves en medio del desierto, a 4 kilómetros del pueblo, con vistas a la montaña y al mar.

    Necesitamos ayuda con la jardinería: cortar palmeras y podar otros arbustos, regar, plantar, ...
    También puede que tengas que hacer muros de piedra o hacer bricolaje o pequeñas construcciones.
    También puedes ayudarnos con la casa, la cocina y alimentar a los animales. Contamos con un gallinero, un recinto con dos burros y un pequeño huerto y un huerto.
    La idea es trabajar juntos por la mañana.

    El sol nos da electricidad y depuramos el agua para regar los árboles.

    Si te gusta surfear o viajar por la isla necesitarás tu propio coche, una bicicleta. Estamos a 4 kilómetros del pueblo.

    Necesitamos a alguien que hable francés o español para comunicarse fácilmente. Gracias :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can offer all our knowledge about the plants, gardenning in a desertic place.
    We can offer our knowledge about construction (we have realized part of our own house) and stone walls.
    We offer to learn about the different birds, how is working an european project.
    We can offer french lessons and you can practice spanish with us.
    We can offer yoga, chikung and meditative sessions.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for people with experience on gardening to keep in order the garden (tree pruning and watering), with the maintenance in general, with DIY and maybe with building project and help us in our project of biodiversity.

  • Languages spoken

    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We offer your own bedroom in our house. There is one bathroom next to the bedroom to share if there is some friends visit.
    Food provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Finca’s philosophy: a quiet, natural, informal place.
    We are next to the beach so it is perfect if you like surfing or swimming.
    You can also go on a hike in the moutains or in the stone desert or along the cost.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Oui, s'ils respectent nos animaux (chats, poules en liberté dans le jardin, ânes) Sí, si respetan a nuestros animales (gatos, gallinas camperas en el jardín, burros)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 heures par jour 5 jours par semaine


Host ref number: 364287996754