Creative Being, Permaculture, Food Forestry, Rustic Maine Living Experience, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 57 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am semi retired and have spent many years in the restaurant business and managing non-profit organizations including a homeless shelter and employment and training program for seniors. I became interested in sustainability and gardening about 10 years ago. Took the Master Gardener Certification, helped to establish the community garden in Bangor, and sought out this property to continue playing and experimenting with whatever struck my fancy while doing my best to respect all natural processes. Aside from projects around here, my favorite hobby is playing volleyball (both indoor and beach) thus I head to Florida in winter to get my fill of fun and sun. Days hiking or hanging out on a pond beach (where all the tourists don't go) are a nice break from providing services. I love sharing the space here and am always looking at ways to expand sharing the property with others. I'm extremely laid back, contemplative, amused by things spiritual and meta-physical but am not a rigid believer or follower of anything and carry no judgments about other peoples lifestyle choices.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Charity work
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Permaculture, food forestry, self discovery, rustic Maine living experience and still on the grid with modern amenities, exploring Maine's unique geography including National and State Parks.

  • Help

    Help

    On the grid homestead tucked into the Maine woods conveniently located to Bangor. Authentic log cabin and several outbuildings. Our property consists of 14 acres abutting 400+ acres of public forest. I maintain a permaculture inspired organic and expanding food forest, vegetable gardens, and a flock of chickens . Wish list projects include assistance improving our composting system, a mural/artwork on the outer log wall of our workshop (10'x24'), constructing arbors for grapes and hardy kiwis, amphitheater staging and seating for events/performers, platforms for tents, yurts, tree houses, trail expansion and maintenance, totem carving and painting, outbuilding conversion and repair, mapping and expanding permaculture and food forest areas, creating educational and entertainment possibilities for visitors and promotion thereof. General maintenance items include chicken care, garden care, mowing, road and trail upkeep, cabin upkeep, harvesting, cleaning work vehicles and tools, road and trail maintenance. Interested in developing a small summer community and constructing abodes for those desiring to transcend material world views and sharing our essence with visitors and one another.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A campsite with tent, camp stove, mini fridge, camp privy, hot outdoor shower, and fresh water for passers through and possibly a more permanent structure for those wanting to construct an abode for longer term stays. Open to tree houses, yurts, and cordwood types of construction. Wifi around cabin perimeter. We may plan a meal or two together every week but otherwise meals on your own with access to our seasonal fruits and vegetables. I can also provide other staple items such as oatmeal, rice, and pasta.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Nature abounds with many lakes, ponds, and hiking. Acadia National Park on Mt. Desert Island has to be one of the most popular destinations anywhere. Explore the greater Bangor area, home of the American Folk Festival, Waterfront Concerts, and Stephen King. This is my nature sanctuary and retreat and most days I'm perfectly happy doodling around at a relaxing pace.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 363684832424